Bug Reports v4 [READ ORIGINAL POST before posting]

The shiny sprite for male raticate is incorrect: https://play.pokemonshowdown.com/sprites/ani-shiny/raticate.gif
It is the same image as for shiny female raticate: https://play.pokemonshowdown.com/sprites/ani-shiny/raticate-f.gif
Compare to the non-shiny male raticate https://play.pokemonshowdown.com/sprites/ani/raticate.gif (note the longer whiskers, etc)

Rattata shiny male sprite is also incorrect for the same reason. Outside of the ratatta line, the other gendered shiny sprites seem to be correct.

BUG STATUS: CONFIRMED - SPRITE (DaWoblefet)
 
Last edited by a moderator:

Quite Quiet

the fever dream of an eclectic sasquatch
is a Tournament Directoris a Site Content Manageris a Super Moderatoris a Community Contributoris a Tiering Contributoris a Contributor to Smogonis a Top Smogon Media Contributoris a Battle Simulator Moderator Alumnus
TFP & Tour Head
I don't know if this qualifies as a bug or if this is intentional, but the ladder seems to be sent multiple update requests for every ladder game that ends.

For example https://replay.pokemonshowdown.com/gen8randombattleblitz-1643991203

End of battle says:
Code:
Quite Quiet won the battle!
Quite Quiet's rating: 1630 → 1645
(+15 for winning)
Get off my DD's rating: 1543 → 1528
(-15 for losing)
☆Get off my DD left
Ladder isn't responding, score probably updated but might not have (Request timeout).
But checking the rating after the battle shows something entirely different:
Userquitequiet
FormatElo
[Gen 8] Random Battle (Blitz)1647

So that first update that shows 1630 → 1645 / 1543 → 1528 seems to either be ignored or not actually an update or something.

BUG STATUS: CONFIRMED - OTHER, this isn't a second request - the first one is just an estimate, because the ladder is so slow anymore that it won't reasonably update before the request timeout. The rank you see in /rank or on the ladder is the only correct rank (DaWoblefet)
 
Last edited by a moderator:
If this post is in the wrong forum let me know, but I feel it fits best here.

As I recently discovered in a playthrough of Pokemon Pearl, Fury Cutter is not correctly implemented on PS for Gen 4. On console, its power does not reset if the user chooses another move, but on PS, it does.

I've recorded a link battle in Gen 4 (apologies for the potato quality) and a PS replay to demo this discrepancy. The stats of all Pokemon are identical in both of these, Gligar having an Attack of 43, and Slowbro a Defense of 114.

https://media.discordapp.net/attach...008849293857267722/8mb.video-YkZ-Q6LvJ6z2.mp4
https://replay.pokemonshowdown.com/gen4anythinggoes-1644136522

BUG STATUS: CONFIRMED - MECHANICS (SERVER) thanks for the cart footage! (DaWoblefet)
 
Last edited by a moderator:
Untitled.jpg

Two turn moves counter is showing incorrect PP number against pressure ability. As you can see meteor beam has no more PP but if i hover over the pokemon, the tooltip tells me it has 8 more PP on that move.

BUG STATUS: NOT A BUG, in doubles, you can't assume what the target of Meteor Beam is on the initial turn, which is when PP is deducted. There's too many edge cases to accurately track this in doubles (DaWoblefet)
 
Last edited by a moderator:

Eve

plubhie
is a Site Content Manageris a Social Media Contributoris a Community Leaderis a Community Contributoris a Live Chat Contributoris a Contributor to Smogon
Discord Leader
1661206233061.png
1661206332736.png

Any third stage Pokémon that evolves by non-standard means (trading, stones, other items, etc) can pass validation at any level, despite the legality of this, as they have no set evolution level to reference in the code. Here you can see Nidoking being supposedly legal at Level 5 while Nidorino is not; this is definitely not accurate to the games (either neither or both should be legal if you allow access to Pokemon Go transfers). A cheap fix to this would be to make the evo levels of these unspecified Pokemon be that of their previous evolution.

BUG STATUS: FIXED by Karthik

In a similar vein, it is currently not possible to validate certain Pokemon at levels below their evolution level, despite the fact that they can be accessed via certain wild encounters. See below, for example:
1661206577291.png

Dragonite can be encountered as low as Level 3 in LGPE Route 1, while Gyarados can be encountered as low as Level 1 in BW2's Nature Reserve. I understand that this issue ties into the one explained here though, as Pokemon Go transfer levels provide a very similar technical challenge. Perhaps linking specific old gen examples like the ones above to "events" from their generation, and then setting up Pokemon with levels only legal through Go to be considered as Gen 8 encounters, could solve this, but there's probably issues with that approach that I'm not thinking of yet.

Totally aware none of this is really relevant to any existing metagame but A) it could be one day maybe? and B) simulation accuracy good

BUG STATUS: CONFIRMED - LEGALITY (DaWoblefet)
 
Last edited by a moderator:
According to bulbapedia " Because the stage numbers in-game have not changed, a Pokémon that uses Psych Up on a target with Simple only copies the stored (not doubled) stat stages." (i.e. psych up that steals stats after 3 calm minds should steal +3SpA +3SpD, even if the target with simple shows as if it was +6/+6). However, when testing, psych up steals +6/+6 rather than +3/+3 after 3 calm minds, most likely as an error of simple's coding. (It stores calm minds as +2/+2 for example, even if it should only be visually +2/+2 but stored as +1/+1)

BUG STATUS: NEEDS MORE INFO, the behavior you're describing is partially from Gen 4; please provide a replay of the incorrect behavior (DaWoblefet)
 
Last edited by a moderator:

berry

rock
is a Community Contributor Alumnus
Hotaru Tenshi in help room pointed out some inconsistencies in Sinistea-Antique's learnset in Gen 8 Little Cup. Stored Power shows up in both's learnable moves in the teambuilder search, but Sinistea-Antique cannot validate with it. Bulbapedia doesn't seem to express any difference in the two forme's learnsets, unless I am overlooking something. bulbapedia link
1661552737052.png

1661552762537.png


this difference is also expressed in the !learn command
1661552870611.png


BUG STATUS: FIXED by Karthik
 
Last edited by a moderator:

Blimax

https://www.youtube.com/c/Blimaxx
is a Tiering Contributor Alumnus
https://replay.pokemonshowdown.com/...-1649312795-hj15z2tm7figs6ot0bmmuhx42qtpsxlpw
This game has some weird interactions in Turns 5 - 6 . No one from the help room had an answer regarding this.
Apparently if a Dark Type Pokémon uses Encore on a Prankster Pokémon, and if the Prankster Pokémon uses a non attacking move the same turn.
Not only does the non attacking move fail, but it auto locks the Prankster Pokémon into an attacking move and that attacking move does no damage to the Dark Type Pokémon who went for the initial encore.

BUG STATUS: NOT A BUG As describes and links the next post, that's the cart interaction of selecting a status move while encored on a damaging move against a dark type (Irpachuza)
 
Last edited by a moderator:
https://replay.pokemonshowdown.com/...-1649312795-hj15z2tm7figs6ot0bmmuhx42qtpsxlpw
This game has some weird interactions in Turns 5 - 6 . No one from the help room had an answer regarding this.
Apparently if a Dark Type Pokémon uses Encore on a Prankster Pokémon, and if the Prankster Pokémon uses a non attacking move the same turn.
Not only does the non attacking move fail, but it auto locks the Prankster Pokémon into an attacking move and that attacking move does no damage to the Dark Type Pokémon who went for the initial encore.
This is not a bug; Klefki selected Spikes on turn 6 and because it was forced to use Play Rough due to Encore, Play Rough was affected by Prankster (since Spikes is affected) and so Liepard was immune. Source: this post.
 

Blimax

https://www.youtube.com/c/Blimaxx
is a Tiering Contributor Alumnus
One more Mechanic, not sure if its a bug , but wanted to share and know for knowledge.
After using Plasma Fists, if Glare is used, it changes the Glare's normal type into an Electric Type Glare which heals the Zeraora.
However when the same is used on Hippowdon, it still Paralyzes the Hippowdown, in spite of changing into an Electric Type Glare. Showing a dual nature of the move combination. Is this supposed to happen or is this a bug?
Replay for the same: https://replay.pokemonshowdown.com/...-1650195864-ooa3v7dgse1os31k7qw85ongbvfla6dpw
Thank You!

BUG STATUS: NOT A BUG, see below (DaWoblefet)
 
Last edited by a moderator:
One more Mechanic, not sure if its a bug , but wanted to share and know for knowledge.
After using Plasma Fists, if Glare is used, it changes the Glare's normal type into an Electric Type Glare which heals the Zeraora.
However when the same is used on Hippowdon, it still Paralyzes the Hippowdown, in spite of changing into an Electric Type Glare. Showing a dual nature of the move combination. Is this supposed to happen or is this a bug?
Replay for the same: https://replay.pokemonshowdown.com/...-1650195864-ooa3v7dgse1os31k7qw85ongbvfla6dpw
Thank You!
Ground types aren’t immune to Electric type status moves, only Thunder Wave in particular: “Paralyzes the target. This move does not ignore type immunity.”
 

Blimax

https://www.youtube.com/c/Blimaxx
is a Tiering Contributor Alumnus
The PP is bugged, at least in GEN 1. Which allows you to spam wrap or any restrictive move indefinetly. It's not the first time it happens to me:

https://replay.pokemonshowdown.com/gen1ou-1650218274-z8gxy9mvz2417865ec0lbu56fdh4cxppw
This is not a bug, this is a known Glitch from Generation 1.
You can find the article here : https://bulbapedia.bulbagarden.net/wiki/Clamp_(move)
The specific glitch information: If at such a time Clamp has 0 PP, Clamp will still be used against the incoming Pokémon. After that use, the current PP of Clamp will roll over to 63 .
Its called the Switch PP Underflow Glitch: https://glitchcity.wiki/Switch_PP_underflow_glitch
 
In gen 1 OU, transform is supposed to copy a target pokemon's stats.

Currently, when a high level ditto transforms into a lower level pokemon it gains the stats that pokemon would have at a higher level. This is visible when L88 Ditto (as Slowbro) attacks the opposing L68 Slowbro in this replay (turn 3): https://replay.pokemonshowdown.com/gen1ou-1333298225-nju8iqn3srze9rg9od27ihcsyt8b4k1pw

Ditto is level 88 in randbats.

BUG STATUS: CONFIRMED - MECHANICS (SERVER) (Plague Von Karma)
This bug still exists. Figured I'd mention it since this last report was over a year ago and another report of this glitch was marked "needs more info/cant reproduce".

On turn 6 Ditto, as Aerodactyl, outspeeds Electrode.
https://replay.pokemonshowdown.com/gen1randombattle-1651487332-eq4y2bubfkunm20nat5nhi5mkxuhko5pw

If you want to reproduce it, set up one team with a lvl 100 Ditto and another team with a lvl 5 Electrode and a lvl 100 Electrode. Transform into the lvl 5 Electrode. Your Ditto will outspeed though it should be a speed tie. Then, switch into the lvl 100 Electrode. The Electrode should outspeed, since you copied from a lvl 5 Electrode, but it will be a speed tie.

I did a test on red to confirm it's working wrong.
https://i.imgur.com/7KjB62T.mp4
I couldnt get link cable to work on the emulator but I really doubt it works differently in a link battle.
 
https://replay.pokemonshowdown.com/gen8ou-1652864615-07snfpsj7m4o12xmtse6taoigu28gi9pw

On turn 9, i EQed the Aegislash and it said it didn't affected it, i was using gravity in the battle but it ended a couple turns before.
Do someboy can abstract what's happened?

BUG STATUS: NOT A BUG, Air Balloon doesn't announce itself when Gravity is active. Because Gravity ended, the Air Balloon became active again, but didn't announce itself. If you had ever hit the Aegislash, it would have announced the Balloon popped (DaWoblefet)
 
Last edited by a moderator:
1662014784776.png


simply a visual bug, it still clears properly in room

BUG STATUS: CONFIRMED - CHAT (CLIENT) (DaWoblefet)
 
Last edited by a moderator:
Hi I am a driver in the OU room. Whenever there's a roomtour we want to exclude we do the command -exclude

1662134741672.png


However twice now it happened that the tour wasn't actually excluded

1662134684174.png

Both times this has happened to me I excluded a couple of times. However this shouldn't be an issue as if the tour is already excluded and you exclude again you get this

1662134792811.png


We actually tend to exclude multiple times, as not every staff knows if the tour creator remembered to exclude. This isn't a common occurrence either. Also no, no other staff included this tour nor the one it happened in before, I already checked the logs.



Felucia edit I looked into this, it happens when Scrappie disconnects during a tour. I don't have time to dig into the code and fix the root cause but if anyone ever experiences this I'm happy to retroactively exclude any tour this affected
 

Attachments

Last edited by a moderator:
please don't laugh at me for sending a friend request to settings
1662163178006.png

but I can't undo sending unintended friend requests while blocking

BUG STATUS: CONFIRMED - CHAT (SERVER) (DaWoblefet)

EDIT:
Hi I am a driver in the OU room. Whenever there's a roomtour we want to exclude we do the command -exclude
hi I'll forward this to Scrappie's owner, this thread is for PS bug reports
 
Last edited by a moderator:

Acehunter1

Doubles LC Leader
is a Tiering Contributoris the defending LC Circuit Champion
Last edited by a moderator:
I believe i found a glitch regarding aegislash using sleep talk while in shield form to call an attacking move. Bulbapedia says doing so doesnt change it to blade form, but in nat dex gen 8 uu it does change it to blade form
https://replay.pokemonshowdown.com/gen8nationaldexuu-1655502421
https://bulbapedia.bulbagarden.net/wiki/Stance_Change_(Ability)
(on stance change page) Moves that call other moves, such as Sleep Talk, will not change its Forme, even if they call a damaging move or King's Shield.
https://bulbapedia.bulbagarden.net/wiki/King's_Shield_(move)
(on kings shield page) Stance Change does not change the user's Forme if King's Shield is called by another move, such as Sleep Talk.

BUG STATUS: NOT A BUG, Just tested this myself, and Bulbapedia is wrong. Aegislash went from Blade forme to Shield forme after using King's Shield called by Sleep Talk. (Karthik)
 
Last edited by a moderator:

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 2, Guests: 2)

Top