1. New to the forums? Check out our Mentorship Program!
    Our mentors will answer your questions and help you become a part of the community!
  2. Welcome to Smogon Forums! Please take a minute to read the rules.
  3. Welcome to Wi-Fi! Please remember to read the rules and do NOT create a new thread for simple trades or Friend Safari codes.

5th Gen PRNG Help / Info - Latest: RNG Reporter 9.96.5, PPRNG 1.15.0

Discussion in 'Wi-Fi' started by Slashmolder, Dec 1, 2010.

  1. Hozu

    Hozu RNGenius
    is a Contributor to Smogon

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011
    Messages:
    1,422
    GxStat is ALWAYS 6, or 86 if you SR.
  2. Agonist

    Agonist He had seen it, felt it's might, bent under
    is a Forum Moderator
    Moderator

    Joined:
    May 22, 2010
    Messages:
    4,304


    Since no one answered you, you need to advance the PIDRNG to the particular frame that gives you the encounter you want. The easiest way to do that is to use two Chatot with custom Chatter cries, and flip through their summaries - each time you view the Chatot's summary, the PIDRNG increases by one.
  3. kiddu

    kiddu

    Joined:
    May 1, 2010
    Messages:
    418
    I know. By "different min & max GxStats" I meant using 6 for min and 7 for max (knowing that any result with 7 was wrong) to see if that'd make it stick to those, and if having 6 in both was what generated that glitch. So far none of those weird GxStats have shown up that way, but I haven't gotten a proper result yet, either.
  4. Lrrr

    Lrrr

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2007
    Messages:
    42
    For RNGing a starter, about what frame can you expect to start in the summer after loading up the NPCs and all?
  5. radishes

    radishes

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2012
    Messages:
    23
    When I was RNGing my starter, if I button-mashed to talk to Bianca as soon as the season info disappeared from the screen, I would hit frame ~25. I believe it varies, but for both times I tried to RNG for my ID/SID/starter, I ended up with frames in the 20s.

    If you wait even a second, though, the frame jumps up by a lot. For example, I found that if I talked to her immediately when the area info popped out (once I started seeing the border come on screen) I hit frames in the mid to late 50s.
  6. Lrrr

    Lrrr

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2007
    Messages:
    42
    Is that 20ish after the starting frame? So if I have a starting frame 50, I should look in the 70s and hope to get lucky?
  7. Slashmolder

    Slashmolder 'Ello Governor
    is a Programmer Alumnusis a Researcher Alumnus

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2011
    Messages:
    278
    Do you have a shiny charm or a syncher? Because both could cause this.

    I'm pretty sure you'll probably need about 10 to properly calibrate. It's just a wide range of possibilities. I'll make reporter demand at least a certain amount after I figure out what those numbers are.
  8. kiddu

    kiddu

    Joined:
    May 1, 2010
    Messages:
    418
    The issue IMO isn't the number of results, but how it gave results with all those weird GxStats when it was set to only look at 6. Or is that what you're referring to, too?
  9. Slashmolder

    Slashmolder 'Ello Governor
    is a Programmer Alumnusis a Researcher Alumnus

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2011
    Messages:
    278
    Oh, missed that somehow. That'll be fixed ASAP. I'm pretty sure it's just a graphical error.
  10. LudwiG

    LudwiG

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2010
    Messages:
    130
    I got the same timer0 two out of two times when calibrating and that timer0 have been working for me. It depends on what get get how many times you need to calibrate. I only did one calibration on my Japanese B2 and that have also been working for me, but I think I was just lucky there (didn't know about the high amount of possible timer0 at that time).
  11. kiddu

    kiddu

    Joined:
    May 1, 2010
    Messages:
    418
    Well, if it helps (and if you missed that, too), I re-ran the search with GxStat set to 6-7 instead of 6-6, and they don't show up (actually, nothing did after about 4 billion results searched [still going], but that's probably normal since, like you said, there's a lot of possibilities).

    We're talking about something else.
  12. Lrrr

    Lrrr

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2007
    Messages:
    42
    Show Hide
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]


    What's going on here? I time finder'd a seed I want on frame 1, but every other thing is showing that the spread I want isn't on frame 1.
  13. jp134711

    jp134711

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2012
    Messages:
    104
    so is Dream Radar RNGing now functional on RNGReporter 9.96.4 or are there some tweaks needed that will be implemented in later releases?
  14. Professor Birch

    Professor Birch

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2012
    Messages:
    899
    Two things.
    1. I finally saw the shine of kyurem after 14 tries. Then the damn thing ran out of moves and killed it self. Soooo pissed.
    2. I started learning computer science this year. I was playing around and decided to make a simple program that can help count with frame advancement. I was just wondering if anyone would like me to upload it?
  15. kiddu

    kiddu

    Joined:
    May 1, 2010
    Messages:
    418
    What 9.96.4 added is more a prequel step to Dream Radar RNG, though it needs fixes.

    While you're at it, Slashmolder, you might wanna take another look over the search code. Unless the progress box showing over 20 billion results (or maybe 200 billion, the last few digits are going so fast that they kind of blur together so I can't tell for sure) searched on default ranges minus the GxStat change I mentioned, and still going with 0 results and a full progress bar since the first couple million or so is normal for BW2, that is.
  16. Uiru

    Uiru

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2007
    Messages:
    175
    So the Unova Link calibration can't be used yet? Or can you manually set the gx to 6?
    ~Uiru
  17. Kokoromori

    Kokoromori

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    You have to check the BW2 box in the main window. It seems that the Adjacent Seed Tool also uses the BW1 frames. So if you chose 3 as Min and Max Frame, it should work.
  18. RotatingAtom

    RotatingAtom

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2010
    Messages:
    333
    I've calibrated using my English (UK) White 2 on my german DSi, and I'm so freaking mad right now.

    1) Is it normal that you can have 2 different VCounts? Mine being AC and AD, the latter being more common with 14/20 times.

    2) I have 11 different timer0's. Range is from 1671 to 167E, with 1674 and 167C being the most common ones with 4/20 and 3/20, respectively.

    3) My "Actual Seconds" are either 26 (happening 17/20 times) or 27 (3/20 times). Does that have an influence on my timer0 ranges, so should I maybe re-arrange my custom timer to be more precise (it's set to 25:05 atm) and re-calibrate after that?

    4)As you can see, I've calibrated with 20 Pokémon, all from Route 19, all with the game started on 10/25/2012 at 12:00:25, all Sweet Scented instantly.
    I've also, yesterday, calibrated with the same setup at Floccesy Ranch, with the only difference being EonTimer running on my Laptop (and the ingame-location, of course). I had the feeling it was less precisely running, so I switched to my PC for todays haul.
    -> The results of yesterday were vastly different from today. My "Actual Seconds" were 27 most of the time (17/20 times) and the timer0's were in the range from 166B to 167E, with the most common being 1675 (3/20) and 167C (3/20), and I've seen 2 different VCounts as well.


    Summary:
    My results, overall, are incredibly inconclusive. Yesterday and today's hauls delivered different parameters, eventhough both were done with a relatively large sample size and under almost the same circumstances.
    Edit: As I said, EonTimer seems to be running imprecisely on my Laptop, so yesterdays hauls might not have been representative.

    Final questions:
    Is it worth trying again with my DSi or should I switch to my DS Lite? I think it might be slightly easier with that because it shows a clock on the main screen. Does the DS Lite maybe have a smaller range of timer0s?

    all this took maybe 5 hours combined and im pissed as all hell
  19. Slashmolder

    Slashmolder 'Ello Governor
    is a Programmer Alumnusis a Researcher Alumnus

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2011
    Messages:
    278
    There's actually a bug in the bounding of GxStat and it'll infinitely search, that is until it stops itself in an attempt to fix crashes. Don't use this feature until the next version.

    1) It's been reported by a few people, it's not normal but it does happen.
    2) Thanks for reporting that, again it's to be expected.
    3) That should be fixable with proper calibration of EonTimer, you're probably pressing it so that it starts right between those two.

    For me personally I've seen less of a range on my DS Lite than my 3DS but don't take that as anything scientific. Really you're just going to have to live with the ranges unfortunately. There's nothing we can do.
  20. RotatingAtom

    RotatingAtom

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2010
    Messages:
    333
    Thanks for replying so quickly. :)
    I guess that means I'll give my DS Lite a shot. Should be way more precise with the clock on the top screen, at least as far as actual seconds go.
    Man, I used to be able to RNG with my eyes closed in BW1. :/
    Looks like Game Freak has done a decent job at making it harder for us that time.
    I'm curious as to how exactly timer0 works and why we can't control it no matter what we do.
  21. Slashmolder

    Slashmolder 'Ello Governor
    is a Programmer Alumnusis a Researcher Alumnus

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2011
    Messages:
    278
    This was not intentional at all. Timer0 is a really fast moving timer that starts when the game starts and is read when the game is seeded. Just because of how the hardware works booting your game doesn't always take the exact same amount of time to boot. The problem is they started doing more things before the RNG seeding takes place meaning there's more room for variability.
  22. Riski

    Riski

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,267
    Could you keep that optional, please? As in leave a message on RNG Reporter that recommended test captures should be in the range of ten or so.

    Those of us with some RNG experience have our shortcuts. Now that I've RNGed at least once on Gen 5 version 2, I know the range of the timer0 is going to be within five to seven of the timer0 values I get with test captures. After that, I just need to do my usual RNG and check for adjacent timer0s to see which one I'm hitting more often, rather than waste time capturing pokes I don't need.

    Also, when I did this Genesect RNG, I noticed that timer0 trolling is horrific on v2, because when I used the most common timer0 for a seed, then the other values became common and the timer0 I used became the least common one to show up. In the end, it was just persistence that got me the Genesect, because switching to other seeds was useless. I just stuck to one seed and waited umpteen tries for the right timer to show up again.

    So yeah, please make multiple test captures optional for DS parameters. I'd like to skip the extra work. :)
  23. kiddu

    kiddu

    Joined:
    May 1, 2010
    Messages:
    418
    Again, that's not what he/we was/were referring to. He's talking about the number of spinners for the new feature that needs to be fixed. Calm down.
  24. Riski

    Riski

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,267
    Sorry if I misunderstood. And I'm not freaking out.
  25. kiddu

    kiddu

    Joined:
    May 1, 2010
    Messages:
    418
    Edit Ninja'd. Look again.

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)