1. Welcome to Smogon! Check out the Smogon Starters Hangout for everything you need to know about starting out in the community. Don't forget to introduce yourself in the Introduction and Hangout Thread, too!
  2. Welcome to Smogon Forums! Please take a minute to read the rules.

Data Ask a Simple Question, Get a Simple Answer (ASB Version)

Discussion in 'Network Center' started by Woodchuck, Jul 9, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Pwnemon

    Pwnemon youngjake93 is a valuable midseason pickup
    is a Tutoris a Forum Moderatoris a Community Contributoris a Tiering Contributoris a Contributor to Smogonis a Smogon Media Contributor
    Doubles Co-Lead

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2010
    Messages:
    4,087
    refs get uc for every battle they ref, approvers get uc for approving prize claims/reg posts/trades

    other than that, uc are few and far between, and explicitly stated.
  2. TIO

    TIO

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2012
    Messages:
    742
    10 approvals gets 1 UC, reffing gets variable amounts.
    Other than that, nope. It isn't hard to be a ref, though.
  3. Biobizbarto

    Biobizbarto

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2012
    Messages:
    72
    If I have a life orb and use a sheer force boosted move is the life orb recoil negated like in the game still?
  4. deadfox081

    deadfox081

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2011
    Messages:
    4,133
    Nope, ASB Sheer Force does not prevent Life Orb recoil.
  5. VentusVictory

    VentusVictory

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2010
    Messages:
    79
    Thanks pwnemon and TIO, I'll give reffing a shot after I get my feet wet in the ASB battling realm a bit more.
  6. Complications

    Complications

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2011
    Messages:
    2,404
    When burned, does the BAP reduction occur before or after the 2.25x multiplier to a same-attack combo?
  7. SimonSays

    SimonSays

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2010
    Messages:
    143
    Afterwards; it's the same with all BAP modifiers (STAB, Expert Belt, Helping Hand, etc.)
  8. Yarnus of Bethany

    Yarnus of Bethany

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010
    Messages:
    2,065
    After; multipliers take priority.
  9. rickheg

    rickheg

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2009
    Messages:
    2,536
    If I purchase an item after a battle has started, but before the mon I wish to equip it to is sent out, am I allowed to do so? Or do I have to own the item before the match starts?
  10. Objection

    Objection

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2008
    Messages:
    5,695
    I think you'd have to own the item before the match starts, kinda like how you can't update your mons with new moves in a battle involving them even if you haven't sent them out yet.
  11. Madotsuki

    Madotsuki

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2011
    Messages:
    229
    For the purposes of limits on recovery moves, does Refresh count as one? Or is that unlimited in use?
  12. Pwnemon

    Pwnemon youngjake93 is a valuable midseason pickup
    is a Tutoris a Forum Moderatoris a Community Contributoris a Tiering Contributoris a Contributor to Smogonis a Smogon Media Contributor
    Doubles Co-Lead

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2010
    Messages:
    4,087
    refresh/healbell/etc do not count as they are not HP recovery moves
  13. Objection

    Objection

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2008
    Messages:
    5,695
    The only moves that count as recovery moves are those that do nothing except restore lost HP, plus Rest.
  14. Complications

    Complications

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2011
    Messages:
    2,404
    Can a move used behind a Substitute be snatched?
  15. C$FP

    C$FP

    Joined:
    May 6, 2011
    Messages:
    4,715
  16. waterwarrior

    waterwarrior

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2010
    Messages:
    1,552
    Snatch is one of the few status moves that ignore Substitute, so yes.
    For example, if Mon A has a Substitute and uses Softboiled, Mon B using Snatch will be able to take the recovery effect.
  17. ThePhalanx

    ThePhalanx

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2011
    Messages:
    255
    Quick question from a newbie ref.
    Say someone makes the substitution "if Move X, then Counter" and the opponent uses a combination of "Move X + Move X." Is this attack counterable, and if so, will Counter be used?
  18. Matezoide

    Matezoide

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2012
    Messages:
    513
    Yes, the substitution will activate.
    As for the move being counterable, it depends on the combo's priority. Most times the priority will be -2, so Counter will work, but if it is something like ''Focus Punch + Focus Punch'', Counter will fail.
  19. Complications

    Complications

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2011
    Messages:
    2,404
    Yes, ThePhalanx. Unless specifically stated in the substitution, if a substitution includes the usage of a move, that substitution will still apply to any combo the move is used in.
  20. deadfox081

    deadfox081

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2011
    Messages:
    4,133
    Simple question that I should be able to answer but I can't find it directly codified anyway.

    Does Evasive Agility evade Bide? Since the semi-invulnerable stages of Dig, Fly, etc don't.
  21. Complications

    Complications

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2011
    Messages:
    2,404
    Based on the bolder question, I believe that it will strike a target using Evasive Agility, seeing as it has perfect accuracy.
  22. Its_A_Random

    Its_A_Random The imitated
    is a Forum Moderatoris a Community Contributor
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2010
    Messages:
    2,368
    To add to Complications' response, Bide also hits targets using Evasive Damaging Moves & the like, so...The only way to block a Bide is through Protect/Detect/Quick Guard, I guess... :/
  23. drunk ¬_¬

    drunk ¬_¬

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2009
    Messages:
    17
    What's the status on Contests and the Custom Sprite Shop?

    I saw posts regarding these in the Roleplaying Approval Thread from a while back, but I haven't seen any threads about them, so yeah, what's up with those?
  24. Arcanite

    Arcanite

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,751
    Basically, Contests died. I was too busy, and when I wasn't the competitors didn't respond.
  25. Espeon65

    Espeon65

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2012
    Messages:
    786
    If a pokemon used Bide, and is frozen, does Bide:

    1) Get postponed until the pokemon thaws out?
    2) Keep taking damage during the freeze? or
    3) Just stop?
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)