1. Welcome to Smogon Forums! Please take a minute to read the rules.
  2. Welcome to Wi-Fi! Please remember to read the rules and do NOT create a new thread for simple trades or Friend Safari codes.
  3. Click here to assure that you never miss a new SmogonU video upload!
  4. Ever find yourself missing out on the latest Smogon articles? We've now got a subscription service, so the newest articles (of your choice) are delivered right to your inbox! Check it out here.

5th Gen PRNG Help / Info - Latest: RNG Reporter 9.96.5, PPRNG 1.15.0

Discussion in 'Wi-Fi' started by Slashmolder, Dec 1, 2010.

  1. DarkestSamus

    DarkestSamus

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Messages:
    59
    Ignore my last question. I just successfully RNG'd a Dream Radar Pokemon.

    I would like to say, however, that the first three times I tried my results were NOWHERE on the Adjacents list. I can't think of anything I did differently during those tries, and I gave myself a leeway of +-5 seconds and +-3 Timer0s (my range is 1103-1107, my target was on 1105) and none of the adjacents even remotely matched my initial attempts.

    EDIT: That error I mentioned on the Seed Inspector menu is still worth noting, though. If your Configuration is set to an English Black 2 or White 2 game, the Version in this screen will be blank, and if you open the drop down menu, the checkmark will be by a blank space located under "White 2 (Japanese)". It is apparently harmless, but slightly confusing/disconcerting.
  2. Musica

    Musica

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2010
    Messages:
    414
    If I were able to get my ID/SID from a seed with a different timer0 (and VCount in my case) than the one I used in TimeFinder, can I still hit the latter seed when I play the game?
  3. chiizu

    chiizu PPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPP RNG
    is a Programmer Alumnusis a Researcher Alumnus

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2010
    Messages:
    424
    I don't know what happened in your case, but there are several possibilities including hitting a timer0 higher than 1108 or lower than 1102, user error in seeing or inputting the correct spinner direction, or a program bug. Without specific details no one can say.

    I can't reproduce your issue. Please post a screenshot of your configuration (in the DS / Game Configuration dialog) as well as a screenshot of one of the searchers showing the error. Also, please verify that your configuration is actually selected when you open the DS / Game Configuration dialog.
  4. DogfishHead

    DogfishHead

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2012
    Messages:
    21
    Does anybody know how the encounter with Latios changes either the Standard Seed IV frame of the PIDRNG frame(chatot chatters)? Does it change anything at all? Just got done RNGing Heatran...
  5. coolbiz

    coolbiz

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2010
    Messages:
    832
    I did it like a normal RNG abuse in black, standard seed.
  6. JTrainer

    JTrainer

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009
    Messages:
    134
    I used a chatot to advance the frame. And I used the wondercard search function of PPRNG.

    It is possible that I was T0 trolled, but my T0 is 1103-1106, thats 4 possible outcomes right? Well, when I tried it, all four were the wrong nature and IVs? Am I doing something wrong, or is it possible that I have more than just four outcomes?
  7. DogfishHead

    DogfishHead

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2012
    Messages:
    21
    I have actually only had success without advancing the frame via chatot pitches. I think they screw with something (maybe T0) in this game...

    Otherwise, keep at it for 20 attempts, and if nothing works, then frame advancing is messed up for you.

    Obviously your mileage may vary. I could be doing something wrong lol
  8. magicc

    magicc

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2011
    Messages:
    16
    Is there any available tool for RNG for XP users with BW2?
  9. voodoo pimp

    voodoo pimp Apply directly to the forehead
    is a Forum Moderator Alumnus

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2010
    Messages:
    2,963
    I'm still not quite sure what you mean by "it used standard seed instead of PIDRNG in the main window" and "bad IVs," though.
    Not yet, there will be another release once DSi/3DS support and a few other things are done.
  10. Musica

    Musica

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2010
    Messages:
    414
    DSi and 3DS support is done I think, or it needs more fix?


    I've found a bug, I think, that is either is cart-related or console related. When I first played the game, I RNG abused a Genesect with the parameters of:

    Timer0 = 1675
    VCount = AD

    However, just a while ago, I tried to abuse my TID and SID with a DIFFERENT set of parameters.

    Timer0 = 1673
    VCount = AC

    My question is, can there really be a difference from my T0 and VCount at the same time? If I get my seed from Time Finder generated from the first parameters (1675, AD) and hit the seed from Pandora's Box (1673, AC), can I still hit the seed from my former parameters for my starter, wondercards, stationary legends, etc.?
  11. DogfishHead

    DogfishHead

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2012
    Messages:
    21
    Yes, everybody is reporting multiple Timer0 values. Some people, such as me, have gotten over 10 different Timer0 values. So you need to do many trials and see which ones pop up more often for you.
  12. DogfishHead

    DogfishHead

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2012
    Messages:
    21
    Also, time flies you fail at RNGing legendaries 30+ times in a row... :(
  13. Musica

    Musica

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2010
    Messages:
    414
    How about the VCount fluctuation? Does that count as well?
  14. Cefiro

    Cefiro

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2011
    Messages:
    139
    I'm trying to get Keldeo back in BW1, and what I find weird is that when I click "Generate adjacent seeds" to my seed, it shows the advances I need without a roamer released, but I have the roamer option on the main menu of RNG Reporter checked. Is that supposed to happen, has that not been programmed in yet or something? (Example, calculating initial PID gives me 55 and the frame I want is 60, but for adjacent seeds it is automatically set to 6 advancements [in BW2 it was correct every time so far by the way]).

    Another thing is that I'm not even getting any of the adjacent seeds when I fail at getting my Keldeo, so I have no clue what I'm doing wrong...



    One more question, if I memory link what actually gets shuffled around? Is Timer0 and all the parameters the same?
  15. emboars

    emboars

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2011
    Messages:
    209
    please tell me is there anyway to remove sandstorm in desert resort in B2 :(
  16. DogfishHead

    DogfishHead

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2012
    Messages:
    21
    VCount fluctuation is new to me. My Timer0 has changed a bit, but my VCount NEVER changed...
  17. Xanderpitz

    Xanderpitz

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2012
    Messages:
    52
    Anyone know why RNG Reporter 9.96.1 won't save my profiles? I can't do anything until they're set up.
  18. DogfishHead

    DogfishHead

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2012
    Messages:
    21
    If you are running Windows XP, then yes you cant save profiles. Otherwise, I don't know, they should work on every other system.
  19. Xanderpitz

    Xanderpitz

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2012
    Messages:
    52
    I have Windows 7. The only thing I can think of is that when I first downloaded it and it asks you to save the profiles, I clicked out. Though, I doubt that would permanently prevent me from saving them.

    I'll try reinstalling it and see if that works...
  20. Cefiro

    Cefiro

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2011
    Messages:
    139
    I couldn't make profiles either on W7.

    What you can do is do any timer finder and register your parameters there, it will save you that profile.
    Then you can duplicate that profile and edit it to make another.

    When I click "OK" after inputting info for a new profile it NEVER EVER saves it.
  21. Xanderpitz

    Xanderpitz

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2012
    Messages:
    52
    But I can't do Time Finder without registering the profiles first. It just exits out of that window. As for registering the parameters, the only thing that I've done thus far is find DS parameters via Stats to IVs. After that there's nothing I can do without registering them.
  22. Cefiro

    Cefiro

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2011
    Messages:
    139
    Okay, I am so damn tired of not getting Keldeo, and I forgot most of the stuff about RNGing. Once I have my Keldeo that is incorrect, how do I use its nature and IVs to check which seed I hit and what characteristics that seed has? HELP!
  23. Xanderpitz

    Xanderpitz

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2012
    Messages:
    52
    Wait, nevermind. I just found the parameters again and used the "Use Results in Time Finder" button. That worked out well, though that's probably a glitch for a later update.
  24. Cefiro

    Cefiro

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2011
    Messages:
    139
    Somebody PLEASE help me; I'm so lost.
    How do I check what I'm hitting for the Wondercard method in BW1?

    T_T
  25. emboars

    emboars

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2011
    Messages:
    209
    oh come on ...now the rebattleable npc at lostlorn forest advance the pid when the sweet scent cutscene in effect....:(

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 2)