1. Welcome to Smogon Forums! Please take a minute to read the rules.
  2. New to the forums? Check out our Mentorship Program!
    Our mentors will answer your questions and help you become a part of the community!

Data Ask a Simple Question, Get a Simple Answer (ASB Version)

Discussion in 'Network Center' started by Woodchuck, Jul 9, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. SimonSays

    SimonSays

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2010
    Messages:
    143
    Unburdened BAP. In what will fever be known as "Zarator's Proposal", our titular hero Curator questioned our leaders, ignoring their pale faced sneers and general comments of scorn and condescension to raise his point.

    "Gems are really small. Can they not bother Acrobatic?"

    The council members rose up on their podium, raising mallet and sickle against the brave Zarator. But he knew not fear, or cowardice. He held his ground and it was as they were about to land the killing blow, that our Lord and Benefactor descended from on high to support his crestfallen long time friend. Raising him to his bosom and carrying him to that Most Holy Place. And it was then, with his back to the council and the wind causing his hair to flow out behind him, he whispered those fateful words. That one sentence shook me to my very core. I speak them now only in retelling, so it can not be forgotten.

    "Sure, why not?"
  2. Its_A_Random

    Its_A_Random Returns true
    is a Forum Moderatoris a Community Contributor
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2010
    Messages:
    2,277
    iirc, this was never implemented, though, so...
  3. Houndoomsday

    Houndoomsday

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2013
    Messages:
    1,027
    Hey! I'm new, waiting on being approved, but I had one question before I start battling: Can you use the same pokemon in multiple concurrent battling? I think I saw that rule somewhere, but it might just be for RP threads. Thanks in advance!
  4. Ragnarokalex

    Ragnarokalex

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2011
    Messages:
    3,996
    yep, with the one exception of The Legend Run, your pokemon can be in any amount of fights/RPs that you can be in.
  5. Houndoomsday

    Houndoomsday

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2013
    Messages:
    1,027
    Alright thank you!
  6. Maxim

    Maxim

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2009
    Messages:
    3,520
    Okay, so currently I'm reffing a TLR against Athenodoros and Engineer Pikachu. Some may question why but that's not what I'm here for.

    Basically, in the past TLR's I've seen people use only two Pokeballs per round, but both of these two guys have made posts using four, is that just shorthand for like do it both rounds or did the rules change?
  7. Its_A_Random

    Its_A_Random Returns true
    is a Forum Moderatoris a Community Contributor
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2010
    Messages:
    2,277
    They can throw as many as they want, but 1 Throw of a Poké Ball is the equivalent of 1 Round.
  8. ZhengTann

    ZhengTann Nargacuga
    is a Pre-Contributor

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2012
    Messages:
    2,158
    Okay, so this match of Deck versus IAR brings something to light - If your opponent KOes himself before you move, do you get to complete your planned action (similar to in-catridge), or does the round ends then and there (which is rather common sense to me)? It's best if somehow, we can get a few respected community members to come to a consensus - though for obvious reasons the battlers themselves could not be counted amongst the panel.
  9. Orcinus Duo

    Orcinus Duo

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2011
    Messages:
    2,869
    Action goes to completion.

    Always has been.

    Although I would like to take this chance to point out how IAR didn't call the ref out on it in this match.
  10. TheWolfe

    TheWolfe

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2008
    Messages:
    2,491
    Okay, two quick questions:

    1) Do phazing moves (like Dragon Tail and Circle Throw) remove screens (Reflect, Light Screen, Safeguard)?
    2) In a Switch=OK battle, if Trainer A sends in his Pokemon, Trainer B switches to another Pokemon, and Trainer A counterswitches, does Trainer's A Pokemon suffer hazard damage?
    Example (open)
    There are three layers of Spikes all over Trainer A's field. After losing his Machop, Trainer A sends in Trubbish and Trainer B responds by initiating switch phase to Staryu. Trainer A counterswitches to Houndour. Does Trubbish take damage from Spikes?


    Thanks. :]
  11. Gerard

    Gerard

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011
    Messages:
    4,331
    1) No, Screen are not dependent on the mon and so they remain even if the mon switches out or is KOed (as in-game)
    2) Yes, since both Pokemon were released and as counter switching is the equivalent to double switching all mons who switch in would take hazards damage
  12. maserato

    maserato

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2013
    Messages:
    404
    1 Question. what does my pokemon recieve after a battle if its ECs are maxed out but i chose not to evolve it?
  13. Houndoomsday

    Houndoomsday

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2013
    Messages:
    1,027
    If it also has maxed out DC's, it get's 3 MC instead of 2 MC. Otherwise it just gets a DC and wastes the EC
  14. Unoriginal Name

    Unoriginal Name

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2013
    Messages:
    632
    If both its EC and DC are maxed (or it has no DW ability and has its EC maxed, or vice versa), it gets a bonus 1 MC. If it has a DW ability with less than 5 DC, however, the prizes are unaffected, other than not getting EC as it has no where to go.

    So, basically, unless its DC is maxed, just forfeit the EC.
    Edit: Ninja'd, lol
  15. kingmidas

    kingmidas

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2012
    Messages:
    788
    I have a question, how do you find a battle I am new to ABS and I just posted in the register section and I want to have my first match to get into ASB.
  16. Unoriginal Name

    Unoriginal Name

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2013
    Messages:
    632
    Well, first off, you are not approved yet. You must fix what Elevator Music said to fix and then give her him a Visitor Message saying you fixed it, then she'll look over it again. You must have an approved team before you can battle, sorry.

    Once it is approved, however, you can find a battle by following the instructions and posting in the Battle Tower.
    Regardless, welcome :D
  17. rickheg

    rickheg

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2009
    Messages:
    2,533
    Can someone confirm my suspicions that if I order

    blah > Mirror Coat > Ice Beam in this

    The subs will cancel each other out, and he will use neither Sunny Day or Light Screen?
  18. AOPSUser

    AOPSUser

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2011
    Messages:
    1,527
    Generally, the first sub listed takes precedence, so he will use Light Screen.
  19. Geodude6

    Geodude6

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2011
    Messages:
    2,773
    Is the Helping Hand boost additive or multiplicative? (ie, will 2 helping hand boosts be x3 or x4)
  20. Its_A_Random

    Its_A_Random Returns true
    is a Forum Moderatoris a Community Contributor
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2010
    Messages:
    2,277
    Multiplicative.
  21. Houndoomsday

    Houndoomsday

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2013
    Messages:
    1,027
    Do any of the following count for a battle slot?

    Battle Hall
    Battle Subway
    Other Battle Roleplays (Arcade, Pike etc.)
    TLR's
  22. Unoriginal Name

    Unoriginal Name

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2013
    Messages:
    632
    No, though you can only have 1 of each Roleplay active at each time (so you can have 3 Battle Towers and a Battle Hall and Raid Zone, but not 2 TLRs)
  23. deadfox081

    deadfox081

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2011
    Messages:
    4,133
    Mirror Coat from behind a Substitute, how does this work? The Pokemon didn't actually take any damage (its Sub did) so I'm not entirely sure. Bulbapedia was kind of ambiguous.
  24. Its_A_Random

    Its_A_Random Returns true
    is a Forum Moderatoris a Community Contributor
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2010
    Messages:
    2,277
    The Pokémon actually has to take damage in order to deal damage with such attacks. After all, how can a Pokémon retaliate to an attack in such a manner if it was the decoy—not the doll—that took the brunt of the attack? The same thing applies to all other retaliatory attacks like Counter, Metal Burst, etc.
  25. akela

    akela

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2012
    Messages:
    4,305
    How should one go about calculating nature changes caused by Moody for a pokemon without an initial neutral nature (For Example, Quiet Moody on a Naive Pokemon or Hasty Moody on a Timid Pokemon)?
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)