1. Welcome to Smogon! Check out the Smogon Starters Hangout for everything you need to know about starting out in the community. Don't forget to introduce yourself in the Introduction and Hangout Thread, too!
  2. Welcome to Smogon Forums! Please take a minute to read the rules.

Programming EonTimer / ZomgTimer

Discussion in 'Technical Projects' started by Toast++, Oct 24, 2010.

  1. Toast++

    Toast++ Corrupt Admin
    is a member of the Site Staffis a Programmeris a Super Moderatoris a Smogon Media Contributoris a Researcher Alumnus
    The Smog Lead

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    1,782
    Well.. I'd answer, but I don't have time right now. This thread is really only for questions/comments about this particular timer program. Any general RNG questions should go here.
  2. Uiru

    Uiru

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2007
    Messages:
    175
    So I get the target frame and second, and using the update function makes the calibrated frame change, so that's fine. Should I be adjusting the calibrated second, too?

    (I'm looking for something on frame 1060, second 23. I assume these never change. I start with 595 in calibrated frame, and 23 in calibrated second. I get results in the 1000ish region, which I put into update, and the calibrated frame changes. But these results are on second 24 or 25. Should I change calibrated second to these? And do I do that first, before updating the frame?)

    Thanks.

    Oh, and how does 3rd gen cart work with this? I've been searching for coin flips and I'm getting inconsistent results with odd/even frames.
    ~Uiru
  3. Toast++

    Toast++ Corrupt Admin
    is a member of the Site Staffis a Programmeris a Super Moderatoris a Smogon Media Contributoris a Researcher Alumnus
    The Smog Lead

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    1,782
    Well.. you'd be better off asking these questions on the RNG help thread, but this question confuses me in general. I'm going to assume by "frame," you mean delay. Your calibrated second is way too high. It should be about 14~15. Keep in mind your "minutes before." That's probably why you keep reading that you hit the wrong second. I can't explain the 3rd gen game thing at all, sorry.
  4. NixHex

    NixHex musty_yugoslavian_teacher
    is a member of the Site Staffis a Forum Moderatoris a Pokemon Researcheris a Contributor to Smogonis a Battle Server Moderator
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,678
    To shed some light on the dual slot, it has been known to change the delay from odd to even (or vice versa) if a game is inserted, then change back when the game is removed. However, I have not experienced this myself. Every once in a while when I'm going for a frame, I'll encounter an odd frame when I typically hit even, but I don't know why this happens. All of this has been addressed in the research thread and in the on-site articles regarding RNG abuse.

    ToastPlusOne, I have a suggestion to keep some consistency between your timers. I've been using the timer for Emerald lately and I noticed that when I enter the "actual" frame to calibrate for time, the offset is in milliseconds (it took me a while to figure out why the number was sometimes so big). You obviously know this, but may I suggest mark it as milliseconds or even just changing it to frames to make it more consistent with the 4th gen display? BTW, the timer works just as well for Emerald as it does for the DS games, keep up the good work!
  5. Toast++

    Toast++ Corrupt Admin
    is a member of the Site Staffis a Programmeris a Super Moderatoris a Smogon Media Contributoris a Researcher Alumnus
    The Smog Lead

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    1,782
    Thanks for the suggestion. I'll see if I can do anything about that when I update with another setting that appears on the new C# timer. I'm glad to hear the Emerald timer works well too.
  6. Uiru

    Uiru

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2007
    Messages:
    175
    23 is the second I get in Platinum if I mash through to Continue, so I'm not sure where 14-15 comes from. I've heard people getting that low in Platinum and I'm not sure how they do it, but when I use Seed Finder I get 23 seconds.

    And I did mean delay, hah.
    ~Uiru
  7. Toast++

    Toast++ Corrupt Admin
    is a member of the Site Staffis a Programmeris a Super Moderatoris a Smogon Media Contributoris a Researcher Alumnus
    The Smog Lead

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    1,782
    Discussion continue via VM as to not venture too far off topic.
  8. Uiru

    Uiru

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2007
    Messages:
    175
    I dunno why 14 works and 23 didn't, but it does. My first timer-RNG, worked great. Thanks!
    ~Uiru
  9. Darkblader

    Darkblader

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2008
    Messages:
    109
    This may be a dumb question but do the beeps not work in Visual mode? it would be great if I could have both on at the same time.
  10. Toast++

    Toast++ Corrupt Admin
    is a member of the Site Staffis a Programmeris a Super Moderatoris a Smogon Media Contributoris a Researcher Alumnus
    The Smog Lead

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    1,782
    Correct, they don't. The reason for that is that they're very hard to line up both of them to happen simultaneously and it would vary among computers making it almost impossible to do both.
  11. TorchicBlaziken

    TorchicBlaziken

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    1,369
    Dewott if you miss your target second? Is there an update setting for seconds?
  12. Toast++

    Toast++ Corrupt Admin
    is a member of the Site Staffis a Programmeris a Super Moderatoris a Smogon Media Contributoris a Researcher Alumnus
    The Smog Lead

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    1,782
    o_O

    What were you aiming for? What did you hit? And what game is it?
  13. TorchicBlaziken

    TorchicBlaziken

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    1,369
    It was HG and I was trying to hit 50 seconds, but I hit 51.

    Dewott because it is like the Pokemon version of wat do.
  14. Toast++

    Toast++ Corrupt Admin
    is a member of the Site Staffis a Programmeris a Super Moderatoris a Smogon Media Contributoris a Researcher Alumnus
    The Smog Lead

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    1,782
    Outside of ID/SID abuse, I've never heard of it being off like that. Either you did something wrong or your game doesn't act the same as the rest of them.

    If it continues, just set the target to 49 instead.
  15. TorchicBlaziken

    TorchicBlaziken

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    1,369
    Maybe I'm just bad at hitting the second. I'll do what you said.
  16. PoJ

    PoJ

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2010
    Messages:
    1,695
    I <3 Eon Timer, thanks so much, Toast! It's much better than Pikatimer, Imo, and it looks much more beautiful than ZOMGtimer :D
  17. Toast++

    Toast++ Corrupt Admin
    is a member of the Site Staffis a Programmeris a Super Moderatoris a Smogon Media Contributoris a Researcher Alumnus
    The Smog Lead

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    1,782
    I'm glad to hear it. It's a bit easier for me to update as well. Although I made some slight modifications, the artwork came from Orugos (link on the first page). Be sure to tell them how much you like it. =)
  18. Cefiro

    Cefiro

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2011
    Messages:
    139
    I think the seconds thing happened to me to in Diamond.

    Target was 14, but I often hit 15 or 13. In the end I stopped caring what the seconds were and just updated with delay, and after forever I still got the Wondercard Poke I was working on.

    EDIT: I just found out you hit A on the continue screen at 0 (from you, ha), and I thought the journal has to load up at 0. That may have caused it I guess, though I was doing it consistently.
  19. KongMD

    KongMD

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2011
    Messages:
    49
    What's the easiest way to change my 'target seconds' value in Gen IV? It's at 52 right now, but that's like a 38 second wait for the first timer (unnecessary). After trying a few different second values, I realized that EonTimer was changing the second of the two timers every time I changed the seconds value. Why is this? The delay has not changed. I tried re-calibrating at different second values, but I wasn't hitting the adjacents like I was @ 52 seconds, because timer #2 was different.

    I just want to be able to change 'target seconds' values at will. Shouldn't the "seconds" value only be linked to the first timer?

    For example, I tried out '45' for my seconds value. My normal calibrated delay at 52 seconds is 610 and my calibrated seconds is 14. My target delay is 630. After changing 'target seconds' to 45, I hit a 666 delay, entered that into the Update field, and re-tried. After another run, I hit something like 600, and entered that into the Update field. I tried again, and the next attempt was at least 60+- my target.
  20. Toast++

    Toast++ Corrupt Admin
    is a member of the Site Staffis a Programmeris a Super Moderatoris a Smogon Media Contributoris a Researcher Alumnus
    The Smog Lead

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    1,782
    I looked thinking that you may have found a bug that I somehow missed. But the second timer on mine doesn't change at all. I don't know if you're reading it wrong or what.

    Your calibrated delay and seconds do not change no matter what your target is.

    Changing the target second only changes the length of the first timer.

    To your original point, if you right click in the Gen IV box, you can click suggested second which will change the target second to produce the shortest overall timer length.
  21. Showsni

    Showsni

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    Messages:
    884
    Eon Timer's pretty good, but it eats up 100% of my CPU whilst a countdown's running... I wouldn't mind much, but that means my wifi can't cope and my internet connection drops. Is this just me having the wrong settings or something, or is it usual behaviour?
  22. Toast++

    Toast++ Corrupt Admin
    is a member of the Site Staffis a Programmeris a Super Moderatoris a Smogon Media Contributoris a Researcher Alumnus
    The Smog Lead

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    1,782
    I've never heard of this problem or anything close to it, really. But I'll look into improving that.


    As an update, I've been working on this and I think I have a fix for the issue but I haven't released it yet since I haven't got anyone to test it yet.
  23. KongMD

    KongMD

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2011
    Messages:
    49
    Thanks for addressing my question, ToastPlusOne. I think I went about this all wrong. Can you tell me how to emulate my normal routine from Pikatimer into EonTimer so I can make the switch?

    The main issue I'm unsure about is where to enter my delay to compensate for the time lost in the hardware from resetting. While using PikaTimer, I entered the same value for 'calibrated delay' and 'wanted delay', to see how much on average I would need to tack onto the delay timer. Here's what I came up with:

    Other Delay on SoulSilver: Wanted Delay + 45
    Other Delay on Plat: Wanted Delay + 10

    I always used to run SoulSilver on my DSi and Plat on my DS phat. Now that I have Pokemon Black, I've switched the two games, and am now using SS in the DS phat and Platinum in my DSi. Sorry for my ignorance, but is the configuration I did related to the hardware only or the cartridge only?

    Now that I've decided to try out EonTimer, I don't know where to put my "Other Delay" before starting. Where do I add that in?
  24. Toast++

    Toast++ Corrupt Admin
    is a member of the Site Staffis a Programmeris a Super Moderatoris a Smogon Media Contributoris a Researcher Alumnus
    The Smog Lead

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    1,782
    Oh.. I think I understand what you're trying to say.

    The things you mention are entirely unnecessary with Eon. All you have to do is try to hit a seed using a normal calibration (500/14 for HGSS, 600/14 for Pt). Whatever you end up hitting is what you put in the box marked "Delay Hit." I don't use the update function the same way PikaTimer did. This was one of the things I fixed first. Once you get your calibration, you keep it. There's really no reason to adjust anything before trying to hit a delay.

    Your adding to the target delay method is a just a (different) solution to the problems associated with the button mashing method of calibration. You really didn't ever get a true calibration, just a number.

    Sorry if that's a little confusing. I'm tired so my communication abilities suck right now.
  25. KongMD

    KongMD

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2011
    Messages:
    49
    Thank you so much for the helpful replies. I've successfully RNG'd a regigigas, and will provide you with some of the data I collected, since you've been so helpful :)


    Seed: bb16028a
    Calibrated Delay: 600
    Target Delay: 640

    with Pikatimer @ 52 seconds

    TTTTT|TTHTT - 644
    HTHTH|THHTH - 642
    644
    HHTTH|TTTHH - 648
    HTHHH|HTTHT - 636
    THHHH|TTTHH - 634
    THTTT|TTHTT - 640 14:50 IS THE SECOND TIMER


    and with EonTimer
    Target Seconds: 40

    HTTTT|THTTT - 638
    THTTT|TTHTT - 640 DELAY HIT AT 14:68. Two frames over target.
    642
    THTTT|TTHTT - Delay hit again. Caught the right one, this time ;)


    The moral of the story here, which you obviously already know, is that the second timer's length can vary according to the target seconds. I recommend using this timer over PikaTimer for ... well, just about every reason. Use the calibrated delays given in ToastPlusOne's last post (500/14 for HGSS, 600/14 for Pt), no matter what hardware you're using. Thanks again for this great timer!

    Note: I used the "Delay Hit" feature and it worked like a charm.

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)