Social Where is your nick from?

Diophantine

Banned deucer.
Around the time I started playing on PS (mid-late 2016) I was just about to start studying mathematics at university. Throughout Sixth Form (High School equivalent in the UK) I was obsessed with nation-wide mathematics competitions, along with maths in general and so I'd spend a lot of my spare time after school practicing problems either from previous years or from the Art of Problem Solving website (many thanks to sed idk if you're still working for them or was working for them when I used to use it but it helped me get stronger and I wouldn't have achieved medals without it). My favourite types of problems to solve were those regarding number theory, of which Diophantine equations (named after the Ancient Greek Diophantus) are a part of. Diophantine sounded like a pretty cool name so I went with that.

I wanted to have my IRL name Taiga as my username since that's pretty cool too, but that's taken. Diophantine is a mouthful and most of my friends shorten it to Dio. I've never seen Jojo's Bizzare Adventure but I can't escape the memes/references every time I start speaking to nerds online with this name lol.