Marty
Reaction score
4,214

Profile posts Latest activity Postings About

  • Can you confirm how Trick Room works in-game? Does it affect the order that abilities activate in double switches? Bulbapedia claims it's only moves, but I think it also implies the order that Pokemon switch as well
    Marty
    Marty
    Ability activation order is the same as Speed order, and Speed in Trick Room is (0x2710 - speed) & 8191.
    ascriptmaster
    ascriptmaster
    Is this the cause for the trick room glitch? Since 1808 becomes 0, and 1809 rolls over to 8191?

    And along that vein, entering 1810 becomes 8190, which is "slower" than 1809's value, so if two Pokemon with speeds higher than 1809 clash in Trick Room, will the slower one move first?
    I've linked to your thread in the info section of my video of the glitch. sorry, I didnt know about your thread til today.
    glad you/somebody pointed it out. thanks!
    Marty
    Marty
    Hey, no worries, there was no way you could have known until that good Samaritan linked to it. Thanks for linking back though, your video does a fine job of explaining the bug, kudos!
    avos5
    <3
    Yo Marty, Could you check out this game-breaking mechanic? https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5rzKTt0LEUk I know that it isn't implemented in Showdown but check it out.

    PS: In the comments there's a list with all the items that are affected by this mechanic
    xJoelituh
    xJoelituh
    Oh, I didn't know tho. Well now you know that he's claiming that award xdd (anyway I found that in Reddit)
    avos5
    MARTY. do you have a twitter handle?
    thanks for putting in a lot of legwork in on this glitch.
    Marty
    Marty
    Nope, I'm not on Twitter. And no problem, I'm glad you had a good time playing around with it. :)
    How exactly is the Forewarn message structured? Does it mention the Pokemon the move belongs to?
    Marty
    Marty
    Yeah, but only since Gen 5 - "It was alerted to POKEMON’s MOVE!"

    In Gen 4 it just said "POKEMON’s Forewarn alerted it to MOVE!"

    Incidentally that's also why it's now officially illegal to nickname two Pokemon identically, or nickname one with the species name of another, to avoid confusion on messages like this.
    In PS, Defeatist is coded that AtK/SpA is halved when below 50%.
    In-game description and a few other sources I checked says it's equals or less than 50%.
    Do you know which is correct?
    Marty
    Marty
    Good catch, it is actually less than or equal to, but looks like it's already been fixed!
    Kris
    Kris
    I did that :o
    Parental Bond + Rollout/Ice ball?
    The simulator double the damage to every hit. Is that right? And then in the 3rd attack second hit (the "6th" turn of rollout), just halves the damages of the 5th hit like standard parental bond. Is this right in game?
    Also, echoed voice. Same thing? No?
    Marty
    Marty
    Parental Bond doesn't affect Rollout or Ice Ball.

    Echoed Voice does work with Parental Bond, but it only boosts the damage every turn, not every hit. Echoed Voice checks whether a Pokemon used it last turn; it doesn't boost damage during a turn if multiple Pokemon use it (or the same Pokemon uses it twice in this case).
    Is Mold Breaker supposed to negate the move-redirection effect of Lightning Rod / Storm Drain? And on an unrelated note, what is the effect across all gens for Flash Fire when the Pokemon is frozen?
    Marty
    Marty
    Yeah redirection is ignored.

    For Flash Fire, in Gen 3 and 4 being frozen makes you take damage from Fire moves (and they also thaw you), presumably because Ability immunity checks come after the accuracy check. Since Gen 5, Ability immunity checks come before the accuracy check, so you can't be thawed by them since Flash Fire prevents them earlier. Will-O-Wisp does nothing while the target's frozen, as you would expect, in all gens.
    Marty
    Marty
    Just to clarify that Will-O-Wisp part, I meant it won't thaw a frozen target; it fails in Gen 3 and 4 and gets absorbed by Flash Fire in Gen 5 and 6.
    Is a Pokemon in a semi-invulnerable state like Shadow Force supposed to dodge Future Sight (on the turn it's used) and thus prevent the attack from landing in the future?
    Marty
    Marty
    Nope. Is that happening on PS? :/
    Lyren
    Lyren
    Yes. I thought it seemed like a bug.
    If a Klutz Pokemon holds Mail, can it be stolen via Thief?
    ascriptmaster
    ascriptmaster
    What about Magician, then?
    Marty
    Marty
    There are no Mail items in Gen 6. They are probably not coming back either because the PSS exists now.
    Marty
    Marty
    But assuming there are any unstubbed, able to be hacked in, and still holdable, then Magician would act like Covet/Thief since it uses the same effect.
    Can you Knock Off a Plate in gen 6 from a Klutz Arceus? And while we're on the subject of Arceus mechanics, can Arceus without Plate use Trick or Thief to obtain a Plate? Can it Knock Off a Plate?
    ascriptmaster
    ascriptmaster
    Ahah. It should be pretty easy for me to fix the issue of Arceus knocking off a Plate, but I'll have to think about how to deal with Klutz since currently the plates are the ones preventing the item removal...
    ascriptmaster
    ascriptmaster
    What about using Knock Off against a Drive Klutz Genesect? And all the things relating to that that I asked about Arceus?
    Marty
    Marty
    Blue Orb, Red Orb, Griseous Orb, Plates, Drives, and Mega Stones are all the same in this regard. Ignoring the item has no effect on whether or not you can remove them from or give them to their respective species. The only effects ignored are the type boosts provided by the Griseous Orb and Plates, and the type changes to Judgment and Techno Blast from Plates and Drives.
    Are Sleeping pokemon able to be flinched? If so, and they do not wake up, which message is shown that states they can't move, asleep or flinch?
    Marty
    Marty
    You have to pass all these checks in order to use a move; it stops checking if one stops you, and it'll show the message for it. Gravity and Heal Block might be in the wrong order, but there's currently no way to tell since no moves exist that are blocked by both effects.

    Sleep/Freeze
    Truant
    Flinch
    Disable
    Heal Block
    Gravity
    Taunt
    Imprison
    Confusion
    Attract
    Paralysis

    This is why it's possible to flinch or hit yourself in confusion or whatever while frozen if you're using a move that will defrost you - it skips that check but not the others. Same idea for Sleep Talk/Snore and sleep.
    Lyren
    Lyren
    Okay, so sense the sleep check is first I guess it makes sense that the sleep message would get shown, but does this mean that if you were to finch while asleep, it would still count as trying to burn off a turn of the sleep counter, even if you weren't going to be able to move?
    Marty
    Marty
    Yeah, that's correct, because you went by the "fast asleep" part.
    Two semi-related questions about targetting your ally. If you target your ally but your ally fainted, what happens? What if an opponent uses Follow Me, given the same situation?
    Marty
    Marty
    Same thing that happens when there's no target ("But it failed!"). For Follow Me, it redirects to the Follow Me user as normal.

    It's impossible to target an empty position in Gen 3 and 4 though.
    What is supposed to happen if a Pokemon uses a move but there's no target? It still loses 1 PP, yes?
    Marty
    Marty
    Yep, whenever "POKEMON used MOVE!" happens, PP deduction happens.
    What are the conditions for Thousand Arrows to ignore effectiveness on Flying-type Pokemon? Is it their immunity to Ground, or their airborne property? For example, what happens to Ring Target Aerodactyl?
    Marty
    Marty
    I assume Gravity, Ingrain, and the "smacked down" effect just override Iron Ball's effect.
    ascriptmaster
    ascriptmaster
    So if I'm understanding this correctly, if a Pokemon is already grounded (Iron Ball, Gravity, Ingrain), Smack Down and Thousand Arrows don't smack them down. Is this for Flying types only, or are Levitaters subject to this rule as well?
    Marty
    Marty
    Yeah that part applies to Levitate as well. I just checked your PR again now (apparently I'm a little late) and the tests look good. Nice work!
    How does Pressure interact with Follow Me?
    Marty
    Marty
    Pressure doesn't affect Follow Me or Rage Powder. Didn't you ask me this a few weeks ago or was that someone else?
    ascriptmaster
    ascriptmaster
    I asked about field-targetting and side-targetting moves a few weeks ago.

    Also, to clarify my question, what I meant was: If a Follow Me Pokemon redirects a move to or away from a Pressure Pokemon, how much PP is deducted?
    Marty
    Marty
    Oh, I see. Well, since targeting is resolved before PP deduction, Pressure only applies to the final target after Follow Me/Rage Powder/Lightning Rod/Storm Drain redirect moves.

    Essentially, redirecting away from the original Pressure target deducts 1 and redirecting to it deducts 1 more.
    Is HP Flying supposed to work with Gale Wings?
    Marty
    Marty
    Nope. The game considers Hidden Power as Normal until you see "POKEMON used Hidden Power!", at which point it's too late for Gale Wings to be useful.
    Lyren
    Lyren
    That's what I guessed but I wanted to make sure!
    If you Mold Breaker Thunder Wave a Levitate mon in Misty Terrain or something, does it work?
    ascriptmaster
    ascriptmaster
    Also on the subject of Mold Breaker, what happens if a Mold Breaker mon gets dragged out by hitting a Red Card? Do Spikes activate on Levitate Pokemon in that case?
    Marty
    Marty
    Oh sorry, I answered on PS but you were gone already. Mold Breaker Thunder Wave on a Levitate Pokemon in Misty Terrain is blocked.

    For the Levitate thing, you mean what happens if the Mold Breaker Pokemon hits a Red Card and a Levitate Pokemon is dragged out? Since the Mold Breaker Pokemon is no longer active, Spikes do no damage.

    If a Mold Breaker Pokemon hits an Eject Button and a Levitate Pokemon comes out as the replacement, Spikes also do no damage.
    If you taunt someone in the middle of Geomancy, are they still locked in to the move?
    Marty
    Marty
    Yes. (For the benefit of others since I already told you.)
  • Loading…
  • Loading…
  • Loading…
Top