• The moderators of this forum are the PS! staff.
  • Welcome to Smogon! Take a moment to read the Introduction to Smogon for a run-down on everything Smogon.

Bug Reports v3 [READ ORIGINAL POST before posting]

Zarel

Not a Yuyuko fan
is a member of the Site Staffis a Battle Simulator Administratoris a Programmeris a Pokemon Researcheris an Administrator
Creator of PS
Validator bug: Azumarill is able to have both Slam and Future Sight, but these are from incompatible sources.

Azumarill
Ability: Thick Fat
EVs: 252 HP
- Slam
- Future Sight

Future Sight is obtainable either as a Virtual Console Egg move or from chain breeding onto Marill/Azumarill, which means it is Marill/Azumarill only. Slam can only be obtained via Azurill, either by breeding or level-up. So Future Sight should not be compatible with Slam because Slam forces the move to be learned through Azurill.
Fixed



For some reason, Latias-Mega counts as a Gen6+ Pokemon on Pokemon Showdown and cannot use HP Fighting with it even though Latias has no such restrictions. Curiously, Latias-Mega couting as a Gen6+ Pokemon has no bearing on Latias-Mega being able to learn a move from a previous game like Whirlpool or Fury Cutter.
Fixed

hey I've got an issue in gen 3 OU, Showdown's complaining that my Weezing has an illegal movese (will-o-wisp and pain split) but chain breeding a male misdreavus with pain split with a female duskull and leveling up the male baby with a will-o-wisp to breed with a female koffing will yield a weezing with pain split and wisp. If i'm in the wrong bug thread let me know, thanks!
Fixed
 

DaWoblefet

Demonstrably so
is a Smogon Social Media Contributoris a Top Researcheris a Tiering Contributoris a Battle Simulator Moderator
Bug with the move bounce

opponent faints while in the invulnerable state of bounce and the move restarts. See turn 11 - 14

https://replay.pokemonshowdown.com/gen7ou-993496166
You sure it is not just a visual bug? In the replay there are no incorrect mechanics. It seems to me your opponent simply used Bounce twice
It is a visual bug. The Gyarados's "but it failed" was because there was no target for its Bounce to hit. Showdown had a visual bug of being stuck in the air, which meant when Gyarados uses Bounce on the following turn, it doesn't appear to move, even though it was a new instance of Bounce.
 

Zarel

Not a Yuyuko fan
is a member of the Site Staffis a Battle Simulator Administratoris a Programmeris a Pokemon Researcheris an Administrator
Creator of PS
Bug with the move bounce

opponent faints while in the invulnerable state of bounce and the move restarts. See turn 11 - 14

https://replay.pokemonshowdown.com/gen7ou-993496166
You sure it is not just a visual bug? In the replay there are no incorrect mechanics. It seems to me your opponent simply used Bounce twice
It is a visual bug. The Gyarados's "but it failed" was because there was no target for its Bounce to hit. Showdown had a visual bug of being stuck in the air, which meant when Gyarados uses Bounce on the following turn, it doesn't appear to move, even though it was a new instance of Bounce.
The visual bug is fixed now
 

DaWoblefet

Demonstrably so
is a Smogon Social Media Contributoris a Top Researcheris a Tiering Contributoris a Battle Simulator Moderator
Validator bugs with Gen 6+ legendaries and certain Hidden Powers.

Case 1:
Cresselia with Hidden Power Ground and an even Speed IV. This should not be possible, as the only IV combination that allows for an even Speed IV with Hidden Power Ground is Even / Even / Even / Odd / Even / Even, but Gen 6+ legends have to have 3 31 IVs.

Cresselia (F)
Ability: Levitate
Level: 50
EVs: 20 HP
IVs: 0 Atk / 0 Spe
- Hidden Power [Ground]

Case 2:
Cresselia with 1 Speed IV, 0 Attack IVs, and Hidden Power Ground. The HP Ground combinations are as follows:
  1. Even / Even / Even / Odd / Even / Even
  2. Odd / Odd / Odd / Even / Even / Odd
  3. Even / Odd / Odd / Even / Even / Odd
  4. Odd / Even / Odd / Even / Even / Odd
So if the Speed IV is 1, then there needs to be at least 3 other odd IVs available for the 3 31 IV rule. But this is only possible with HP Ground spread #2, which forces a 31 Attack IV.

Cresselia (F)
Ability: Levitate
Level: 50
EVs: 20 HP
IVs: 0 Atk / 1 Spe
- Hidden Power [Ground]


It is more than just HP Ground that has cases like this, but you get the idea. Here's a full list of all Hidden Power combinations in Gen 6+: https://pastebin.com/HfKnfkBq
 

Meicoo

cool quiz
is a Battle Simulator Driver
In generation 2, fury cutter does not work as intended. I tested this by giving scizor the move and used it against exeggutor and other psychic and dark types. The first damage to exeggutor is only 17%, even at 10 base power I would assume it would do more, but after each consecutive turn the damage does not increase. Here is the replay. https://replay.pokemonshowdown.com/gen2ou-994249915
As an additional note to the folks taking a look at this, this seems to be or have been a problem in more than just Gen 2, based on these posts: https://www.smogon.com/forums/threads/bug-reports-v3-read-original-post-before-posting.3634749/page-36#post-8085878
https://www.smogon.com/forums/threads/bug-reports-v3-read-original-post-before-posting.3634749/page-36#post-8085516
https://www.smogon.com/forums/threads/bug-reports-v3-read-original-post-before-posting.3634749/page-37#post-8089044

Edit: based on testing it seems to be working fine in Gen 7 currently.
Edit2: seems to be broken specifically in Gen 2 and Gen 3.

Woble edit: input logs for Gen 2/3:
https://replay.pokemonshowdown.com/gen2customgame-994262660
https://replay.pokemonshowdown.com/gen3customgame-994263564
 
Last edited by a moderator:

Zarel

Not a Yuyuko fan
is a member of the Site Staffis a Battle Simulator Administratoris a Programmeris a Pokemon Researcheris an Administrator
Creator of PS
Went to watch one of my very old Replays, it breaks on turn 16. Given its age, I don't remember why.

Also, yes, I know my chat is very cringey-teenager, please don't remind me.

https://replay.pokemonshowdown.com/fortis-randombattle-801
It looks like this was uploaded from a third-party server (fortis), which ran some custom code with a bug in it. We've never used any "restoreboost" command, it was always named "clearnegativeboost". I've made it so you can continue past that point, but that point will always be an error message.
 
I can be mistaken but the combination of Recycle + leppa should be banned by endless battle clause?
https://replay.pokemonshowdown.com/gen7zu-995145779 , Pyukumuku had the combination and used it on turn 84.
Somehow someone still got to bring that combination on to ZU ladder, not sure if this is a detection bug.


Similarly to the validator glitch with mega ray, it seems the cosplay pikachu's(pikachu-bella, -libre, -PhD, -Pop-star, -Rockstar) can be brought onto regular zu ladder as well, for my understanding these can't be transfered to gen7.
https://replay.pokemonshowdown.com/gen7zu-995169105
 
Last edited:
I can be mistaken but the combination of Recycle + leppa should be banned by endless battle clause?
https://replay.pokemonshowdown.com/gen7zu-995145779 , Pyukumuku had the combination and used it on turn 84.
Somehow someone still got to bring that combination on to ZU ladder, not sure if this is a detection bug.


Similarly to the validator glitch with mega ray, it seems the cosplay pikachu's(pikachu-bella, -libre, -PhD, -Pop-star, -Rockstar) can be brought onto regular zu ladder as well, for my understanding these can't be transfered to gen7.
https://replay.pokemonshowdown.com/gen7zu-995169105
This does not violate Infinite Battle Clause. Infinite Battle clause is specifically the combination of Leppa Berry + Block + Recovery + Heal Pulse.
What you provided is legal, albeit very nasty. Eventually, your Pokemon will run out of PP and Struggle to death.
 

HoeenHero

The Misspelled Hero!
is a Battle Simulator Administratoris a Community Leaderis a Programmer
PS Leader
I can be mistaken but the combination of Recycle + leppa should be banned by endless battle clause?
https://replay.pokemonshowdown.com/gen7zu-995145779 , Pyukumuku had the combination and used it on turn 84.
Somehow someone still got to bring that combination on to ZU ladder, not sure if this is a detection bug.


Similarly to the validator glitch with mega ray, it seems the cosplay pikachu's(pikachu-bella, -libre, -PhD, -Pop-star, -Rockstar) can be brought onto regular zu ladder as well, for my understanding these can't be transfered to gen7.
https://replay.pokemonshowdown.com/gen7zu-995169105
This does not violate Infinite Battle Clause. Infinite Battle clause is specifically the combination of Leppa Berry + Block + Recovery + Heal Pulse.
What you provided is legal, albeit very nasty. Eventually, your Pokemon will run out of PP and Struggle to death.
Regardless, ECB is no longer a validator rule. Instead if you abuse it you will lose the match.
 
I hovered over a 5 turn Rollout (thru Metronome) and it said it was 30 BP on the hover display. Seems only visual, the actual damage was still doubled.
https://replay.pokemonshowdown.com/gen7metronomebattle-995274504
1571521089728.png

EDIT: Metronome usage doesn't matter. This was a 2-turn normal rollout that still showed 30, pretty simple to test.
1571521295327.png
https://replay.pokemonshowdown.com/gen7ou-995277926

EDIT: Also rejoining a battle and typing something or clicking Save Replay brings the replay Play/Pause buttons up, and I have to wait for that to disappear before I can actually see any new messages posted. It's hard to show, might make a gif or something.

EDIT 2: Funny happening in the metronome battle teambuilder. Normally this suggested set gives me 252 in everything, but without moves this chansey doesn't get any SpA EVs.
1571528759487.png

Also clicking a hidden power/choice in the dropdown list makes your gender appear as --- in the preview until you refresh the view. I think this only affects fixed genders.

1571529112102.png
1571529128297.png
 
Last edited:

HoeenHero

The Misspelled Hero!
is a Battle Simulator Administratoris a Community Leaderis a Programmer
PS Leader
Focus Sash shouldn't activate before Sturdy. (Replay)
According to Bulbapedia: "If a Pokémon with Sturdy is holding a Focus Sash, Sturdy will activate first."
While Bulbapedia is a good general source, its not one we trust for mechanics since anyone can edit it and put incorrect information in. We will need to have this verified on cartridge first.
 

DaWoblefet

Demonstrably so
is a Smogon Social Media Contributoris a Top Researcheris a Tiering Contributoris a Battle Simulator Moderator
Focus Sash shouldn't activate before Sturdy. (Replay)
According to Bulbapedia: "If a Pokémon with Sturdy is holding a Focus Sash, Sturdy will activate first."
While Bulbapedia is a good general source, its not one we trust for mechanics since anyone can edit it and put incorrect information in. We will need to have this verified on cartridge first.
Bulbapedia has it right on this one. Sturdy always activates before Focus Sash (including on Sturdy Shedinja).
 

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 7, Guests: 17)

Top