1. Remember to check the Simple Questions/Simple Answers , Suggestions , Bug Reports and Technical Support threads before posting. If you have something that warrants extended discussion then post a thread, but when in doubt, please use an already existing thread
  2. New to the forums? Check out our Mentorship Program!
    Our mentors will answer your questions and help you become a part of the community!
  3. Welcome to Smogon Forums! Please take a minute to read the rules.

Ask A Simple Question, Get A Simple Answer - Pokemon Showdown! Edition

Discussion in 'Pokémon Showdown!' started by Arcticblast, Jan 20, 2013.

  1. Shame That

    Shame That night after night
    is a Battle Server Moderatoris a Contributor Alumnus
    Mentor

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2011
    Messages:
    472
    You can still post an appeal, the moderators should be able to look into it and find logs if you can't provide any.
  2. BTO

    BTO

    Joined:
    May 4, 2013
    Messages:
    2
    What if some of the "proof" was on a PM? Thanks by the way.
  3. Sturdynips

    Sturdynips
    is a Contributor to Smogon

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2013
    Messages:
    391
    Obscure question, but I've noticed a couple of shiny pokemon in randbats, does anyone know the chances of getting one?
  4. MJB

    MJB Sup Peeps
    is a Battle Server Admin Alumnus

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2011
    Messages:
    449
    Quite rare, though not as rare as finding them in game
  5. Yung13YearOldPkmnPro

    Yung13YearOldPkmnPro

    Joined:
    May 8, 2013
    Messages:
    1
    How can you change your username on showdown?
  6. Malkyrian

    Malkyrian

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2009
    Messages:
    377
    There are two methods that I know of for doing this.

    1. Type the following into the chat:

    /nick Username

    with the name you want in place of Username. So, if I wanted my forum nickname on Showdown, I would type /nick Malkyrian.

    2. If that's too tricky, you can just log out by pressing the button in the upper right. Then, when you log back in, it'll ask you for a name, where you can pick whatever you want.
  7. steelydan

    steelydan

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2012
    Messages:
    9
    Is there a way for me to report someone? I had a match against an obnoxiously rude opponent, but I didn't save the replay.
  8. Hollywood

    Hollywood lesbian jonas brother
    is a Tutoris a member of the Site Staffis a Battle Server Administratoris a Super Moderatoris a Community Contributoris a Smogon IRC SOPis a Tiering Contributoris a Contributor to Smogonis a Smogon Media Contributor
    Other Metas Leader

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2012
    Messages:
    4,019
    Unfortunately, a replay or battle log would pretty much be the only way that we can do anything about that. In the future, should something like that happen to you, you can either leave your battle window open afterwards or save the replay. You can also just PM a moderator on the server when it happens so that the issue can be handled promptly.
  9. TbirdGT500

    TbirdGT500

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2013
    Messages:
    2
    why is it that when ever i share a replay it shows my opponents view instead of mine?
  10. Renosaur

    Renosaur

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Messages:
    749
    When I Dc and reconnect, I see the poke but no actions appear. This stays that way until I lose by timer... Is there a way to work around this? Refreshing doesn't seem to help

    edit: cheers for answers!
  11. FastFlygon

    FastFlygon

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010
    Messages:
    541
    Renosaur if you type /leavebattle and then /joinbattle in the battle chat you should be able to resume playing. I suffered from a similar glitch a while back that I managed to "fix" using this method.
  12. Manitary

    Manitary

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2012
    Messages:
    276
    I usually do this:
    - type /leavebattle in lobbychat (I've never been able to write in room chat after a dc), this will 'unlock' the room chat
    - type /leavebattle in the room chat
    - type /joinbattle in the room chat
  13. morningsun

    morningsun

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2012
    Messages:
    103
    I am considering getting a new laptop. What should I make sure it has or doesn't have so that PS functions efficiently for me?
  14. MJB

    MJB Sup Peeps
    is a Battle Server Admin Alumnus

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2011
    Messages:
    449
    Any modern computer will run PS fine. To be honest PS should be the least of your thoughts when buying a new computer.
  15. chimpact

    chimpact fire nation
    is an official Team Rateris a Smogon Social Media Contributoris a Tiering Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2006
    Messages:
    1,817
    What is the font for the battle text on showdown?
  16. Princess Bubblegum

    Princess Bubblegum

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2011
    Messages:
    2,983
    Is there any way 2 people can play showdown from the same router? I wanted to play my sister in RBY, but every time a computer changes the profile, it changes it automatically for all people using the router, making it impossible for 2 people to play, as there can only be one profile. Is there a way around this or is it a simple auto-failsafe to prevent ladder spamming and there is no work around. If I could play my sister without going to someone else's house, that would be great.
  17. Winwi

    Winwi

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2013
    Messages:
    2
    i get stuck on the loading screen. it gets stuck on loadinjg client help please
  18. Scepticallistic

    Scepticallistic

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2008
    Messages:
    1,305
    Chrome is telling me it is being rendered for me as Verdana.
  19. AdamH121

    AdamH121

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2012
    Messages:
    6
    Have partial trapping moves been fixed in Gen1oubeta?
  20. buttpirate53

    buttpirate53

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2013
    Messages:
    5
    Two questions: 1. is there a separate ladder for each server? 2. If my rank is good enough to be on the ladder for the Smogon University official server, but its not on the list, what is the problem?
  21. TGMD

    TGMD +Biosci: you both gave me crabs
    is a Tutoris a Battle Server Moderatoris a Team Rater Alumnusis a Tiering Contributor Alumnus
    Tournament Winner

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2011
    Messages:
    998
    Yes, each server has their own ladders.

    Your deviation (a 2 or 3 digit number located next to your Glicko2 and a +- sign) is likely too high, it needs to be 100 or lower in order for you to show up on the list.
  22. doonoo

    doonoo

    Joined:
    May 19, 2013
    Messages:
    1
    help?

    Why is it that when I try to chat, my letters are not that visible like no one can see what I say. Plus when I try a command like !data regice it says this;

    Can anyone else see what I say? If not, how can I chat with everyone else.
  23. dcae

    dcae naughty list

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2011
    Messages:
    1,169
    Doonoo everyone has their text colored gray, everyone else sees it as black.

    For your second question, only users that are voiced or PS staff are allowed to broadcast commands in the main chat. You can use the same commands with / instead of !, for example /data regice, and you will be able to see it, but nobody else can. However, everyone sees your chatting.
  24. Ballofire

    Ballofire Banned deucer.

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2013
    Messages:
    170
    Is DW OU still playable on PS? If so, how?
  25. Arcticblast

    Arcticblast LOL STAFF FAG
    is a Forum Moderator Alumnusis a Community Contributor Alumnusis a Battle Server Moderator Alumnusis a SPL Winner
    Mentor

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2008
    Messages:
    5,460
    DW OU can be played through challenging an opponent to a battle. It was removed as a ladder due to the absolute lack of battles the ladder had.

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)