1. Remember to check the Simple Questions/Simple Answers , Suggestions , Bug Reports and Technical Support threads before posting. If you have something that warrants extended discussion then post a thread, but when in doubt, please use an already existing thread

Ask A Simple Question, Get A Simple Answer - Pokemon Showdown! Edition

Discussion in 'Pokémon Showdown!' started by Arcticblast, Jan 20, 2013.

  1. TheKiller7

    TheKiller7

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2013
    Messages:
    5
    What is this Tier Shift?

    And whats going on with Ubersupectest?
  2. Unoriginal Name

    Unoriginal Name

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2013
    Messages:
    630
    It was voted by Smogoners to be the Other Metagame of the Month. OU mons are normal, but UU mons have ALL their stats increased by 5; RUs have them all increased by 10; and NU mons have their base stats upped by a whopping 15. For more info, go here.
  3. XularusXIII

    XularusXIII

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Is there any way to back up my teams to my computer, or other storage device?
  4. Zarel

    Zarel Not a Yuyuko fan
    is a member of the Site Staffis a Battle Server Administratoris a Programmeris a Pokemon Researcheris an Administrator
    Creator of PS

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2011
    Messages:
    1,573
    Yes, click the "Backup" button, and copy the text you get into a text file.
  5. XularusXIII

    XularusXIII

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    I thought that might work, but wasn't certain. Thank you!
  6. Volcanus

    Volcanus

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2013
    Messages:
    4
    I'm having trouble installing

    So basically, my SHowdown started acting up a few days ago so i decided to re-download the game. So every time I install it i keep getting this line of text:

    error id: "bad_httpd_conf"

    BTW I have a Mac, if anyone can help me or can direct me to anyone who can help me that would be greatly appreciated!

    Oh yah, I'm in version 10.6.8 for Mac.
  7. Lowgock

    Lowgock Doyen & Éminence Grise of the German Pokémon Community

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Messages:
    236
    Why cant i reconnect to my battles sometimes? Lost a crapload of points because of this
  8. DrDLO

    DrDLO

    Joined:
    May 22, 2011
    Messages:
    22
    So I looked at the post rules and also the "technical support" and "bug" sections and think that this belongs here:

    I know Showdown supports Event pokemon (eg. Rash Aura Sphere Raikou, etc), but are we able to use any/all released event pokemon? I was trying to use a Golduck [Psyduck] from the Pokémon Center Mystery Egg/New York City Pokémon Center event in Gen II. It learns petal dance through this event and it says incompatible when I'm on Showdown. Didn't know if this was an overall bug or just policy. Thanks

    Source:
    Show Hide
    http://bulbapedia.bulbagarden.net/wiki/Golduck_(Pokémon)/Generation_II_learnset#By_leveling_up



    edit: Ah, didn't realize they couldn't be transferred. Thanks Zarel!
  9. Zarel

    Zarel Not a Yuyuko fan
    is a member of the Site Staffis a Battle Server Administratoris a Programmeris a Pokemon Researcheris an Administrator
    Creator of PS

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2011
    Messages:
    1,573
    It's possible to transfer pokemon from Gen III to Gen IV, and from Gen IV to Gen V, but there's no way to transfer a Gen II pokemon to later gens.

    We only allow pokemon that are possible to get in the game you're playing in. Most Pokemon Showdown games are played in Gen V, so only pokemon that are possible to get in Gen V are allowed in those formats.
  10. Swamp-Rocket

    Swamp-Rocket screw economics!
    is a member of the Site Staffis a Forum Moderatoris a Contributor to Smogon
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2010
    Messages:
    1,297
    How do the recommended EV spreads get determined?
  11. mikel

    mikel The Young an Wild Take Chances Together.
    is a Battle Server Admin Alumnusis a Forum Moderator Alumnus

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2011
    Messages:
    859
    there's an algorithm based on the moves/base stats/item/ability that determines the playstyle of the pokemon and assigns the EVs accordingly. someone pokemon have exceptions to hit certain speed tiers (celebi, tentacruel, iirc jirachi) and things like that.

    i'll try to find the section in the source code and edit it in here if i find it.

    swamp-rocket, the ev spread recommender is spread throughout https://github.com/Zarel/Pokemon-Showdown-Client/blob/master/js/teambuilder.js
  12. Emi

    Emi

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Messages:
    113
    Where did percentages go. Why does it now give me a range.
  13. mikel

    mikel The Young an Wild Take Chances Together.
    is a Battle Server Admin Alumnusis a Forum Moderator Alumnus

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2011
    Messages:
    859
    basically, in the game, your opponent's HP is not displayed at all. all the information you have is the number of pixels in the bar (48 in total) and its colour, which changes based on the remaining HP.

    how PS used to have it a while ago was the floor(remainingHP/totalHP*100) or similar, giving a fairly precise amount of information. crucially, this amount of detail is not available ingame.

    it was then changed to fractions of 48, which is how you see it on the carts, and appropriately, "percentages" rounded to the nearest 1/48. however, this caused issues due to the rounding such as life orb recoil, sub recoil, and sr damage.

    today, a range instead of one value was implemented to show your opponent's hp with the greatest certainty possible with regards to the cart. your opponent's hp will ALWAYS be inside the range displayed and the damage taken will ALWAYS be inside the range.

    this is all being currently discussed by the staff of smogon and ps and is a contentious issue. i hope i explained it decently
  14. Mc96

    Mc96

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2013
    Messages:
    149
    what's considered better pokemon online or pokemon shodown or what are the differences?
  15. mikel

    mikel The Young an Wild Take Chances Together.
    is a Battle Server Admin Alumnusis a Forum Moderator Alumnus

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2011
    Messages:
    859
    PS
    • browser based; no DL required
    • greater mechanics accuracy
    • looks better
    • has the smogon tiers and metagames
    • animations

    PO
    • disallow spectators
    • less tough on cpu
    • android client
    • quieter chat (if that's your kind of thing)
    • channels
    • a tournament engine
    • less potential lag
  16. Swamp-Rocket

    Swamp-Rocket screw economics!
    is a member of the Site Staffis a Forum Moderatoris a Contributor to Smogon
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2010
    Messages:
    1,297
    I'm sorry to post again so quickly, but are the "viable moves" on a certain Pokemon determined by the staff?

    EDIT: On a similar note why is Hidden Power never on the viable moves list?
  17. blubberchomp

    blubberchomp

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2012
    Messages:
    5
    I'm wondering if it's possible for a custom server to reset their ladder rankings or cause them to decay over time?

    I just wanted to mention that Cathy already fixed the issue for us, but thanks for replying.
  18. bamfbanki

    bamfbanki

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2013
    Messages:
    1
    Hey I have a question: Currently I have a high enough ACRE to be on the cap ladder. Why isn't my username showing up?
  19. Manitary

    Manitary

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2012
    Messages:
    277
    I think it's because your deviation is "a bit" too high (200), in order to lower it just play more rated matches
  20. Chenkovsky

    Chenkovsky

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2012
    Messages:
    186
    My ranking randomly dropped from 1833 to 1788 on the Doubles VGC '13 ladder, I didn't lose any matches, it was just a drop for no apparent reason. How and why did this happen?
  21. VN.

    VN. the birds pt. 1
    is a Team Rater Alumnus

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2011
    Messages:
    944
    So is this a knwn bug or is it supposed to happen?

    Seems a little bit [absolutely] ridiculous that you lose points for tying in this simulator...


    Also @ Chenkovsky, I think your account might have 'decayed', it's a feature that makes you lose pts for not playing in a while so as to prevent people from sitting on their ladder rank
  22. triangleshades

    triangleshades

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2013
    Messages:
    2
    Hey guys, sorry if this question has been already addressed but every few games or so my ACRE just drops randomly. Is that a feature of decay? For example, I had a rating of 1950 and the next battle I won I only had 1890?
  23. Zarel

    Zarel Not a Yuyuko fan
    is a member of the Site Staffis a Battle Server Administratoris a Programmeris a Pokemon Researcheris an Administrator
    Creator of PS

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2011
    Messages:
    1,573
    Why? If you tie against someone who you're expected to win against (because your rating is ~500 points higher than theirs), I think it makes sense to lose points for that. Especially with ~500 point difference, if you don't beat them soundly, your point difference probably shouldn't be that much.

    The point of Glicko2 as a rating system is to measure how good you are. It's not about whether or not it's "fair" to lose or gain points in a specific situation, it's only about calculating how good you are.
  24. Manitary

    Manitary

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2012
    Messages:
    277
    Decay. It happens every 15 battles iirc (or after a period of inactivity)
  25. triangleshades

    triangleshades

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2013
    Messages:
    2
    Alright, thanks!

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)