1. Remember to check the Simple Questions/Simple Answers , Suggestions , Bug Reports and Technical Support threads before posting. If you have something that warrants extended discussion then post a thread, but when in doubt, please use an already existing thread
  2. Welcome to Smogon! Check out the Smogon Starters Hangout for everything you need to know about starting out in the community. Don't forget to introduce yourself in the Introduction and Hangout Thread, too!
  3. Welcome to Smogon Forums! Please take a minute to read the rules.

Ask A Simple Question, Get A Simple Answer - Pokemon Showdown! Edition

Discussion in 'Pokémon Showdown!' started by Arcticblast, Jan 20, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Onetymequestions

    Onetymequestions

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2013
    Messages:
    8
    "Site Temporarily Unavailable" (sic)

    I can't seem to access Showdown!...
    The site says its down, but I know it isn't, because I actually did get to the site (by using microsoft translator to translate the site into another language, and only being able to view it below the translator bar at the top of the screen) and could see people talking and playing as usual...
    I tried to log in, but it wouldn't accept my Username, or even ask me for my password. I tried then to make a new team, but obviously I can't battle until I make a Username, and that still wouldn't work.

    I wonder if I got banned somehow, and If so I want to know why please.

    my username on Showdown is "雅びIrony"
  2. Onetymequestions

    Onetymequestions

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2013
    Messages:
    8
    nvm seems to be better. if somebody fixed it thanks a bundle!
    I'm a chuckster gyuk gyuk
    HUrrr!
  3. Dakar

    Dakar

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2012
    Messages:
    94
    I have a few replays saved from about a week ago that I tried to access the other day, but, after watching through about 1/2 of the replay, it would just stop. Reloading the page wouldn't work, skipping to the turn after the pause didn't work, and using the 'Skip to next turn' button didn't help either. What can I do to fix this?
  4. Arcticblast

    Arcticblast
    is a Forum Moderator Alumnusis a Community Contributor Alumnusis a Battle Server Moderator Alumnusis a SPL Winner

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2008
    Messages:
    5,635
    Do you have links to the replays? Chances are we can help out if you've still got them.
  5. MegaKick

    MegaKick

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2009
    Messages:
    1,482
    Seeing that PS has just added a gen4 ou ladder and is very close to having a gen1 ladder, are there any plans in the future to add other past metagames, like gen3 or gen 4 uu?
  6. redundant

    redundant

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2010
    Messages:
    33
    On a somewhat related note, are there plans to add older gens' sprites to the battle screens?
  7. Dakar

    Dakar

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2012
    Messages:
    94
    Yeah! I'm on mobile at the moment, but as soon as I get a chance on my PC, I'll post them.
  8. Joim

    Joim Navigate the pitfalls, cross the great divide!
    is a member of the Site Staffis a Battle Server Administratoris a Programmeris an Administratoris a Tiering Contributor Alumnusis a Contributor Alumnusis a Smogon Media Contributor Alumnus

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2012
    Messages:
    1,752
    We are working on Gen 3 and Gen 4 OU, it's just a thing that takes time and other things take priority :)
  9. Dakar

    Dakar

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2012
    Messages:
    94
  10. apt-get

    apt-get 笑っている 今が愛おしくて ひとりじゃないと思った
    is a Community Contributoris a Tiering Contributor

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2012
    Messages:
    643
    Is there a theoric limit to the number of turns of a battle on Pokémon Showdown! ? Because if there isn't, we can theorically keep a battle going in hackmons with two leppa berry harvest shuckles in sun with four non-attacking moves forever, and just click automatically on moves with script.
  11. Joim

    Joim Navigate the pitfalls, cross the great divide!
    is a member of the Site Staffis a Battle Server Administratoris a Programmeris an Administratoris a Tiering Contributor Alumnusis a Contributor Alumnusis a Smogon Media Contributor Alumnus

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2012
    Messages:
    1,752
    In that case the battle could be tied by a Leader or an Admin.
  12. Jameslawl

    Jameslawl

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Hello!

    I was curious about whether there is a friend's list feature for Pokemon Showdown.
  13. Joim

    Joim Navigate the pitfalls, cross the great divide!
    is a member of the Site Staffis a Battle Server Administratoris a Programmeris an Administratoris a Tiering Contributor Alumnusis a Contributor Alumnusis a Smogon Media Contributor Alumnus

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2012
    Messages:
    1,752
    Not yet, but we could have one in the future.
  14. Maxlance

    Maxlance

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2013
    Messages:
    3
    I have this doubt :

    why I didn't get any rating after winning an ou match?
  15. Manitary

    Manitary

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2012
    Messages:
    276
    Maybe you challenged someone (or accepted a challenge), and in private matches there's no rating gain/loss
  16. Maxlance

    Maxlance

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2013
    Messages:
    3
    then which battle mode should i join to get ratings?
  17. Seth Vilo

    Seth Vilo

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2009
    Messages:
    685
    I just wanted to ask here to see if the problem I'm having is on my end. In the past week or so, I've noticed that Showdown has gotten extremely laggy. I'm mentioned this on mobile devices before other places, but I have never had this problem with Showdown on my laptop - the best computer in my house - until this past week. I'm often getting disconnected from Showdown while building a new team after a few minutes, as well as the whole teambuilder interface being crazily laggy. When not in that interface, it's just laggy all around, but not at all to that extreme. Maybe it's the 2000+ people online...?

    Also, this evening (April 30th at 1am US Eastern time), the Showdown webpage will not open for me at all. However, this site says it's up. I tried it on different browsers, and it's still not loading the first page, let alone signing into a server. Other webpages and apps (including "heavier" ones like League of Legends and Minecraft multiplier) are working completely fine; it's only PS that's messing up.

    So is this just me? (And is this the right place to ask this?)

    ("Specs": Windows 8 Professional OS, HP laptop, Chrome browser with no other tabs open, both Ethernet and WiFi connections tested)
  18. Snowflakes

    Snowflakes Dango Dango Daikazoku
    is a Battle Server Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2012
    Messages:
    405
    It isn't just you, others have had problems when many users have come online with lag, I personally don't have a fix for it but on lower user counts the others said it was a lot better. As for the site being down I don't know specifics but it was down for everyone (the main page not the actual server for whatever reason.)
  19. Zarel

    Zarel Not a Yuyuko fan
    is a member of the Site Staffis a Battle Server Administratoris a Programmeris a Pokemon Researcheris an Administrator
    Creator of PS

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2011
    Messages:
    1,920
    We're having serious problems with our host, unfortunately.

    If you go to this URL:

    http://www.pokemonshowdown.com/

    it should be more likely to work than if you leave off the "www." - can you try that?
  20. Winwi

    Winwi

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2013
    Messages:
    2
    is the server down?
  21. Zarel

    Zarel Not a Yuyuko fan
    is a member of the Site Staffis a Battle Server Administratoris a Programmeris a Pokemon Researcheris an Administrator
    Creator of PS

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2011
    Messages:
    1,920
  22. Jameslawl

    Jameslawl

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Thanks for the answer about the friends list.

    I was able to block lobby chat, but beginning yesterday, when I block the chat, I can no longer accept challenges or do battles.

    I've tried it both on the Firefox App/Plug-in thing and through the actual URL with the same results.
  23. JoshuaMunoz

    JoshuaMunoz

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2012
    Messages:
    575
    Press the "Find Battle" button in the top left corner in the main chat.
  24. Seth Vilo

    Seth Vilo

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2009
    Messages:
    685
    Welp, I tried that, and it still didn't work a couple days ago.

    That said, I logged in today and it worked perfectly. So to whoever/whatever cause the server to go down for me, I thank you greatly; I got through all the rest of this semester's homework since I couldn't distract myself with battling. So fate smiled upon me. XD

    tl;dr: nevermind my issue, since it works now!
  25. BTO

    BTO

    Joined:
    May 4, 2013
    Messages:
    2
    What if I want to appeal my ban but I don't have the log to prove it?
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)