1. Remember to check the Simple Questions/Simple Answers , Suggestions , Bug Reports and Technical Support threads before posting. If you have something that warrants extended discussion then post a thread, but when in doubt, please use an already existing thread
  2. New to the forums? Check out our Mentorship Program!
    Our mentors will answer your questions and help you become a part of the community!
  3. Welcome to Smogon Forums! Please take a minute to read the rules.

Ask A Simple Question, Get A Simple Answer - Pokemon Showdown! Edition

Discussion in 'Pokémon Showdown!' started by Arcticblast, Jan 20, 2013.

  1. Hotax

    Hotax

    Joined:
    May 20, 2013
    Messages:
    1
  2. Manxer

    Manxer

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2010
    Messages:
    50
    when I user Firefox I don't have pokemon cries but only music, please tell me how to fix to have poke cry :)
  3. TGMD

    TGMD +Biosci: you both gave me crabs
    is a Tutoris a Battle Server Moderatoris a Team Rater Alumnusis a Tiering Contributor Alumnus
    Tournament Winner

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2011
    Messages:
    997
    It's most likely because either you have cries off, which you can change in the sound menu located next to your name, or it's because of Firefox; it seems to have problems with the sound on PS.
  4. redcrosse4

    redcrosse4

    Joined:
    May 24, 2013
    Messages:
    1
    How do you register for Pokemon Showdown

    I have been trying to chat in the lobby but it keeps saying i need to register with pokemon showdown, i dont get it
  5. Iminyourcloset

    Iminyourcloset OBJECTION! What do you mean I have a weakness now?!
    is a Battle Server Moderator Alumnus

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2010
    Messages:
    188
    To Register for Pokemon Showdown!, you need to win a rated battle (i.e. one on the ladder). When you win a rated battle, a text box will pop up and you will enter some info like your password/whatever.
  6. PokemonSean

    PokemonSean

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2013
    Messages:
    1
    Im new to showdown and i registered an account then i turn the computer off and left for a while when i came back and turned the computer back on and went to showdown i was not logged in and i dont know how to log back in thanx and sorry if this is a newb question
  7. phoopes

    phoopes The Boss
    is a Battle Server Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2011
    Messages:
    1,044
    There should be a "Choose Name" button in the upper right hand corner. Click this, enter your username an password, and you should be good to go.
  8. Nitewolf

    Nitewolf

    Joined:
    May 26, 2013
    Messages:
    36
    Hi, this might have been asked before, so Im sorry if Im repeating here, but Im wondering if there is a way to remove or shrink the battle chat and thus move the battle screen to the center?
  9. Iminyourcloset

    Iminyourcloset OBJECTION! What do you mean I have a weakness now?!
    is a Battle Server Moderator Alumnus

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2010
    Messages:
    188
    You should be able to just "X out" the lobby tab at the top. However, I don't believe the battle window will grow in size.
  10. redundant

    redundant

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2010
    Messages:
    33
    Doing this will extend the text portion of the battle screen as opposed to shifting both the animation window and the text portion towards the center, which I believe he was getting at.

    Are boxes a planned feature? PL had boxes where you could store commonly used sets and have them quickly added to a new team, very handy.
  11. valleyofbones

    valleyofbones

    Joined:
    May 8, 2013
    Messages:
    2
    Hello, for some reason pokemon showdown just does not start up. the home/ chat page just does not start up, my internet is working fine. it says you have been disconnected even before it starts up. was i banned or something?
  12. Nitewolf

    Nitewolf

    Joined:
    May 26, 2013
    Messages:
    36
    Indeed, this is what I meant, I'd just like having the battle animations screen at the center, but I guess it's not possible.
  13. Houndoomsday

    Houndoomsday

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2013
    Messages:
    1,027
    I'm not sure if this is related to the recent large update, but Showdown seems to be running MUCH better. Coincidence or not?
  14. Zarel

    Zarel Not a Yuyuko fan
    is a member of the Site Staffis a Battle Server Administratoris a Programmeris a Pokemon Researcheris an Administrator
    Creator of PS

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2011
    Messages:
    1,773
    Yes, the recent update improved performance.
  15. Houndoomsday

    Houndoomsday

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2013
    Messages:
    1,027
    Alright awesome- it's definitely a significant increase.
  16. Sonicblast369

    Sonicblast369

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2013
    Messages:
    4
    Every time I go onto showdown the this strip of line appears and I can log in, but I can't watch battles, play them, or anything else! please help!
  17. rabies

    rabies

    Joined:
    May 29, 2013
    Messages:
    4
    Can the lobby see everything you type, such as /rating !data or whatever the commands are?
  18. Namikaze

    Namikaze

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2008
    Messages:
    151
    Anything with a / before it can't be seen by the lobby. Everything else can.
  19. Icy Arcanine

    Icy Arcanine

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2011
    Messages:
    40
    Is it possible to limit the range of ratings that you can battle with like you could on PO. For example, if my rating is 1600, can I make it so that I can only battle people in the 1500-1700 range? Thanks in advance!
  20. MJB

    MJB Sup Peeps
    is a Battle Server Admin Alumnus

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2011
    Messages:
    449
    There is already a system in place where it tries to find other users within a given range, however this range is not decided by the user and it put in place by default. This range increases the longer you look for a battle.

    Im not sure if custom ranges are going to be implemented or not, but do understand that there is a range system already in place.
  21. blazinasian19

    blazinasian19

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2013
    Messages:
    1
    Weird link glitch became ban

    I was trying to post a link, but somehow a youtube link became an inappropriate link. I was wondering if there is any way to recover my account or make a new one. I'm disappointed that I can't enjoy showdown anymore.
    Username was blazinasian19
  22. RandomKrud

    RandomKrud

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2013
    Messages:
    13
    hey does anyone know why PS was down recently? the error message said it was a DDoS attack, but why would anyone target PS?
  23. Electrolyte

    Electrolyte Spring break, motherfucker
    is an official Team Rateris a Smogon Media Contributoris a Contributor to Smogonis a Battle Server Moderator
    Mentor

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2012
    Messages:
    1,999
    If you think you were banned unjustly, make an appeal in the ban appeals forum. Changing your username will not unban you as the ban encompasses all alts shared by the banned alt's IP adress.

    That being said, you will be unbanned at the next server restart for sure, which happens every few days.

    Yea, it was a DDoS attack. I too am surprised that people would target our innocent site, but apparently some people in this world are assholes. We just have to move on.
  24. RandomKrud

    RandomKrud

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2013
    Messages:
    13
    Oh and (this may have already been asked; if so, I apologize) why is missingno a choosable pokemon, and why is "magikarp's revenge" a choosable move, even though neither can actually be used? Just for the hell of it I'm assuming?
  25. mikel

    mikel frizy will carry ocn
    is a Contributor to Smogonis a Battle Server Admin Alumnusis a Forum Moderator Alumnus

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2011
    Messages:
    973
    magikarp's revenge was a test move for testing multiple effect moves

    missingno featured in april fools' day 2012

    no idea why they're still selectable but it's pretty obvious they're fake

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)