1. Remember to check the Simple Questions/Simple Answers , Suggestions , Bug Reports and Technical Support threads before posting. If you have something that warrants extended discussion then post a thread, but when in doubt, please use an already existing thread
  2. New to the forums? Check out our Mentorship Program!
    Our mentors will answer your questions and help you become a part of the community!
  3. Welcome to Smogon Forums! Please take a minute to read the rules.

Ask A Simple Question, Get A Simple Answer - Pokemon Showdown! Edition

Discussion in 'Pokémon Showdown!' started by Arcticblast, Jan 20, 2013.

  1. Zarel

    Zarel Not a Yuyuko fan
    is a member of the Site Staffis a Battle Server Administratoris a Programmeris a Pokemon Researcheris an Administrator
    Creator of PS

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2011
    Messages:
    1,771
    They can be used in Custom Game.
  2. LilOuOn

    LilOuOn

    Joined:
    May 25, 2012
    Messages:
    649
    Did something happen to PS!? I get this whenever I try to connect...there were no problems yesterday.

    Show Hide
    [​IMG]
  3. Alter

    Alter let me down easy
    is a Contributor Alumnusis a Battle Server Moderator Alumnus
    Mentor

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2013
    Messages:
    667
    Yeah, it's down for everyone I'm pretty sure.
  4. Subject 18

    Subject 18 S H M A C K E D
    is a Forum Moderatoris a Battle Server Moderator
    Moderator

    Joined:
    May 3, 2012
    Messages:
    1,019
    The login server was down earlier. It is up now and you should be able to get on without much trouble.
  5. TANE

    TANE

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2013
    Messages:
    1
    Are you guys planning on doing a mobile app for PS? I would love to play this on my phone when I'm out and about (specifically at work), so I would love it if you would. :)
  6. Soul Fly

    Soul Fly IMMA TEACH YOU WHAT SPLASHIN' MEANS
    is a Contributor to Smogon

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2013
    Messages:
    1,740

    A mobile app is on the cards, but right now it is an ultra low priority, because the dev team have fare more pressing concerns which need attention. But if your phone is reasonably new and has decent RAM, you can use the regular online client on your mobile phone browser without any issues. The new interface even has a nifty alternative UI for smaller screens like phones and tablets!
    I'd encourage you to give it a go.
  7. PSDuckie

    PSDuckie

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2012
    Messages:
    139
    Did the PS ladder reset or something? I've been away for a while and my rating and W/L record seem to have been reset.
  8. Cinco Diablo

    Cinco Diablo

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2012
    Messages:
    1,265
    Yes, all ladders were reset as a result of a DDOS attack on PS a few weeks ago.
  9. iliketrains11

    iliketrains11

    Joined:
    May 25, 2013
    Messages:
    79
    i can't play because it just comes up with it saying it's loading but it never loads, sometimes after a while i can reload and it works, how can i fix this?
  10. Iminyourcloset

    Iminyourcloset OBJECTION! What do you mean I have a weakness now?!
    is a Battle Server Moderator Alumnus

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2010
    Messages:
    188
    This may be because of problems with your personal internet, or possibly the server was down. (Every few days or so, PS! restarts, so it may have been that time period? I'm unsure.) But at this very moment, PS! is up, at least for me. If you aren't receiving PS! right now, it's most likely your internet.
  11. DGX

    DGX

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2012
    Messages:
    155
    you guys need to make it accessible for the nintendo wii
  12. Houndoomsday

    Houndoomsday

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2013
    Messages:
    1,027
    When is the next server reset?
  13. TGMD

    TGMD +Biosci: you both gave me crabs
    is a Tutoris a Battle Server Moderatoris a Team Rater Alumnusis a Tiering Contributor Alumnus
    Tournament Winner

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2011
    Messages:
    997
    There's no set date, it resets whenever an admin needs to reset it. They're somewhat frequent though, there'll almost definitely be one within the next few days.
  14. Redjar

    Redjar

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2010
    Messages:
    1,019
    I've been gone for a while, but previously when you were in a different tab and the notification that it was your turn popped up you were able to click the pop up and it would take you to the game. It doesn't anymore. Is that an option that I can't find or just removed completely?
  15. Dragonicwari

    Dragonicwari

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2012
    Messages:
    47
    Why did my alt randomly drop 40 points in between two matches that I had right after each other? (I can provide a screen shot but the second match I won and gained 11 points so it looks like I lost 30)

    Is there a maximum amount of points you can lose when you lose a match?
  16. Iminyourcloset

    Iminyourcloset OBJECTION! What do you mean I have a weakness now?!
    is a Battle Server Moderator Alumnus

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2010
    Messages:
    188
    If only we had a whole list of Frequently Asked Questions...WAIT--

    But anyway, from what I understand, what had happened was:
    - you had high deviation, or at least noticably higher than your opponent. :/
    - you lost (I assume), and due to your high deviation, you lost a lot of points :C (new accounts have an extremely high deviation; so if it was a new-made alt, that may be why it lost a bunch)
    - But luckily, since you have a high deviation, it should be easy to gain back those points :D
    Disclaimer: I'm not a programmer/I know nothing about computers or programs, etc. So if I'm totally off, someone smart feel free to correct me :X.

    As for any maximum amount of points you could lose, I don't think there's a set limit that'll actually be used (There may be one just to avoid someone abusing a possible glitch in the system).

    Um... I don't remember that ever being a thing...If it's not an option in the PS! settings, (which it very well may be, I suggest you check to see) could it be a part of your browser's settings (something probably like "Allow pop-ups to link you to different webpage" or similar)?

    If it isn't a part of your browser's settings, I would think it would've been removed (although I didn't know that happened; I'll test next time I get a chance.)

    Hopefully I made sense/didn't make a fool of myself. To both you guys, I hope I helped! ~^_^~
  17. Soul Fly

    Soul Fly IMMA TEACH YOU WHAT SPLASHIN' MEANS
    is a Contributor to Smogon

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2013
    Messages:
    1,740
    Iminyourcloset, it is DEFINITELY a thing, I use it all the time.

    @Rejdar: You're right. This option was added during the new interface update, when you logged in for the first time in the New Version there would be a Browser popup of PS! asking for permission to use desktop notfications. Which means that if you're on a different tab/desktop it'll notify you. If you aren't getting this any more there are two things you can try.

    a) Check the permissions page of your specific browser to see if PS! is allowed .

    b) Back up your teams, Clear your browser cookies and history and then go to Pokemon Showdown Site. The Dialogue box asking for permission should appear again and you can enable it then.
  18. Grey Knight

    Grey Knight

    Joined:
    May 25, 2013
    Messages:
    355
    1. what is the Paypal account of PS ? an ATM ate my cred card so i couldn't donate the last time.
  19. Dragonicwari

    Dragonicwari

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2012
    Messages:
    47
    I checked the FAQ's but didn't see anything I didn't already know

    So basically what you are telling me is a lost to many points for it to say how many I lost? I was keeping attention to what I lost since I have never laddered above 2k before and was just kind of annoyed I'll have to make back those points. Anyways, thanks for the help
  20. MJB

    MJB Sup Peeps
    is a Battle Server Admin Alumnus

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2011
    Messages:
    449
    We dont accept donations sorry
  21. Gary2346

    Gary2346 A filthy casual
    is a Contributor Alumnus

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2011
    Messages:
    1,380
    Okay, so this question has probably been asked a million times elsewhere, but why did you guys implement a Stealth Rockless metagame into Showdown, then remove it immediately? I heard it was added by a communication error or something like that, but I find it odd how I heard about how Showdown was eventually going to release a Rockless metagame, and now you're not? Why did you make a rockless metagame, just to remove it several hours later? I just find it odd that it was a known fact that Showdown was eventually going to release this metagame, and now it's removed...? Seems very strange to me.... The community really seemed to enjoy it.
  22. MJB

    MJB Sup Peeps
    is a Battle Server Admin Alumnus

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2011
    Messages:
    449
    I dont know where you get your info that this was "known as a fact", this is the first im hearing of this being a fact...

    Anyway it was added as a mis communication/joke
  23. Gary2346

    Gary2346 A filthy casual
    is a Contributor Alumnus

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2011
    Messages:
    1,380
    This is the fact I'm talking about. Haunter mentioned in the Stealth Rock thread that the OU council would release a Rockless metagame before X and Y came out. So this was all just a gigantic joke, even Haunter's message? Funny... No offence, but I don't really see the humor in taking away a metagame everyone was seeming to enjoy. What was the harm in keeping it?

    http://www.smogon.com/forums/showpost.php?p=4725140&postcount=196
  24. Barney

    Barney

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2013
    Messages:
    2
    any chance for OU no sr to return? Even if it was added by mistake, people liked it and i think it didn't create any problem
  25. theybank

    theybank

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2013
    Messages:
    1
    can't choose username

    hey I'm new here and want to start using pokemon showdown. every time i try put my username in it doesn't work. is this because my username isn't registered? if so how can i register it? i read something about winning a rated battle but how do i get there? thanks guys sorry I'm such a newbie :p

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)